Terry Donahue Inducted Into College Hall Of Fame

Dec. 12, 2000

NEW YORK (AP) - John Elway, Stanford's 1982 All-America quarterback betterknown for his fourth-quarter comebacks and two Super Bowl wins with the DenverBroncos, led a group of 14 players and two coaches inducted into the NationalFootball Foundation and College Hall of Fame on Tuesday night.

Elway, who threw for 9,349 yards and 77 touchdowns in four years atStanford, played for the Broncos from 1983-98 and took his team to five SuperBowls. He ended his NFL career with consecutive wins in the 1998 and '99 SuperBowls.

A pair of Heisman Trophy winners - Marcus Allen of Southern California andJohnny Rodgers of Nebraska - also were inducted during the footballfoundation's annual awards dinner.

Allen won the Heisman in 1981 after running for 2,342 yards - the first timea college player topped the 2,000-yard plateau in a single season. Rodgers, theCornhuskers' wingback from 1970-72, won the '72 Heisman and led his team to twonational titles and a 32-2-2 record.

Inductees to the The National Football Foundation's 2000 College Football Hall of Fame gather in New York Tuesday, Dec. 12, 2000, for their portrait. From left to right, front row are: Margaret Talboom for her late husband Eddie, Bob Dove, Harley Sewell, Stan Jones, and Joe Schmidt. Second row: Marcus Allen, Forest Evashevski, Michael Haynes, Billy Ray Smith, Terry Hoage, and John Elway. Back row: Dan Dierdorff, Johnny Musso, Terry Donahue, Johnny Rodgers and Bob Burris representing his late brother Kurt. (AP Photo/Stuart Ramson)

Coach Terry Donahue of UCLA and Forest Evashevski of Hamilton, WashingtonState and Iowa also were inducted. Donahue had a 151-74-8 record in 20 seasonswith the Bruins, Evashevski had a career mark of 68-35-6.

Also inducted were center/linebacker Kurt Burris (Oklahoma, 1951-54),offensive tackle Dan Dierdorf (Michigan, 1968-70), end Bob Dove (Notre Dame,1940-42), defensive back Michael Haynes (Arizona State, 1972-75), defensiveback Terry Hoage (Georgia, 1980-83), offensive/defensive tackle Stan Jones(Maryland, 1951-53), halfback Johnny Musso (Alabama, 1969-71),linebacker/fullback Joe Schmidt (Pittsburgh, 1950-52), offensive guard/middleguard Harley Sewell (Texas, 1950-52), defensive end Billy Ray Smith (Arkansas,1979-82), and tailback Ernie Talboom (Wyoming, 1948-50).

Burris and Talboom are deceased.

The foundation also honored 16 student-athletes, each of whom will receivean $18,000 postgraduate fellowship.

The honorees were: Jeremiah Beery (Azusa Pacific), Scott Becker (Air Force),Michael Bland (Hampton), Drew Brees (Purdue), Matt Cannon (Southern Utah),Varon Cantrell (St. Joseph's, Ind.), Nick Colbert (Troy State), MacKenzie Hay(Augustana, Ill.), Wes Hines (McNeese State), Jared Lee (BYU), Marion Martin(Furman), Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska), Chris Weinke (Florida State), JoshWhitman (Illinois), Christopher Witt (Colorado College), and David Wonderlick(Susquehanna).

Vanden Bosch, Nebraska's right defensive end, won the Vincent dePaul DraddyAward as the nation's top scholar athlete, boosting his scholarship to $25,000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network