Morris Trophy Winners Announced

Dec. 13, 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Defensive end Andre Carter of California and offensive guard Chad Ward of Washington have been named winners of the 21st annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Carter, a 6-foot-4, 265-pound senior from San Jose, Calif., becomes the first California defensive player in the 21-year history of the Morris Trophy to win the award. Carter was a consensus first-team All-America selection this year and was a unanimous All-Pac-10 selection for the second consecutive year. He was named a team captain as well as California's most valuable player for 2000 and was a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Award given to the nation's top defensive player. Behind the Carter-led defensive line, California led the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks and ranked second in the league in rushing defense. Carter was second in the Conference in both quarterback sacks with 13.5 (-90 yards) and tackles for losses with 19.5 (-104 yards). Both marks are Cal single-season records.

Ward, a 6-foot-5, 335-pound senior from Finley, Wash., was selected first-team All-America and first-team All-Pac-10 this season. A Washington team captain, he is a three-year starter and played in all 44 regular-season games in his Husky career. He was named UW's lineman of the year for the second consecutive year. Behind Ward and his offensive linemates, the Huskies led the Pac-10 in rushing at 211.7 yards per game and concluded the season with consecutive 300-yard rushing games. Washington also ranked third in the league in fewest quarterback sacks allowed and second in scoring offense at 32.6 yards per game.

Ward becomes the third Washington offensive lineman in the last five years to win the Morris Trophy, joining Olin Kreutz (1997) and Bob Sapp (1996).

Carter and Ward will be presented their awards at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 20, 2000.

PACIFIC-10 CONFERENCE--Named defensive end Andre Carter of California and offensive guard Chad Ward of Washington as winners of the Morris Trophy as outstanding defensive and offensive linemen in the Conference.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year Offense Defense 1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon 1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington 1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC 1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State 1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington 1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State 1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington 1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona 1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona 1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State 1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington 1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington 1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona 1993 Todd Steussie, California D'Marco Farr, Washington 1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State 1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona 1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC 1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State 1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State 1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford 2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder