Ward and Carter Named Morris Trophy Winners

Dec. 13, 2000

Walnut Creek, CA - Washington offensive guard Chad Ward of Washington and California defensive end Andre Carter have been named winners of the 21st annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Ward, a 6-foot-5, 335-pound senior from Finley, Wash., was selected first-team All-America and first-team All-Pac-10 this season. A Washington team captain, he is a three-year starter and played in all 44 regular-season games in his Husky career. He was named UW's lineman of the year for the second consecutive year. Behind Ward and his offensive linemates, the Huskies led the Pac-10 in rushing at 211.7 yards per game and concluded the season with consecutive 300-yard rushing games. Washington also ranked third in the league in fewest quarterback sacks allowed and second in scoring offense at 32.6 yards per game.

Ward becomes the third Washington offensive lineman in the last five years to win the Morris Trophy, joining Olin Kreutz (1997) and Bob Sapp (1996).

Carter, a 6-foot-4, 265-pound senior from San Jose, Calif., becomes the first California defensive player in the 21-year history of the Morris Trophy to win the award. Carter was a consensus first-team All-America selection this year and was a unanimous All-Pac-10 selection for the second consecutive year. He was named a team captain as well as California's most valuable player for 2000 and was a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Award given to the nation's top defensive player. Behind the Carter-led defensive line, California led the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks and ranked second in the league in rushing defense. Carter was second in the Conference in both quarterback sacks with 13.5 (-90 yards) and tackles for losses with 19.5 (-104 yards). Both marks are Cal single-season records.

Carter and Ward will be presented their awards at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 20, 2000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder