Blackford, Fluckiger Lead ASU Wrestling to Runner-Up Finish at Reno Tournament of Champions

Dec. 20, 2000

RENO, Nev. - Senior All-American Steve Blackford won the 165-pound title and sophomore Kellan Fluckiger won the heavyweight crown, leading the 10th-ranked Arizona State wrestling squad to a second-place finish at the Reno Tournament of Champions at the Reno Livestock and Events Center Wednesday.

The Sun Devils placed second only to No. 1 Oklahoma State, a team which produced six individual champions in the tournament and won their sixth-straight Reno Tournament of Champions title.

Tabbed the most exciting match of the day, Blackford edged Ty Wilcox from Oklahoma State 6-5 in the championship round to capture his first tournament title of the season. Fluckiger won his first career title with a close 6-3 decision over Eric Webb from Oregon.Sophomore Rocky Smart earned runner-up honors at 157 pounds, winning his first three matches but falling to 1999 NCAA Champion Kirk White of Boise State by a close 3-2 margin in the final round.

Also earning places for the Sun Devils were sophomore Jeff Charlebois (125), junior Dana Holland (149) and senior R.D. Pursell (184), who all took fifth-place via injury defaults.

ASU will next compete at the Midlands Tournament hosted by Northwestern in Evanston, Ill. Friday, Dec. 29 through Saturday, Dec. 30. The Sun Devils will then return home to open their Pac-10 schedule with Cal Poly, Friday, Jan. 5 at Wells Fargo Arena.

Reno Tournament of Champions, Reno, Nev.
Team Results:
1. Oklahoma State, 192.5 pts., 2. Arizona State, 120.5, 3. Indiana, 111, 4. Boise State, 103.5, 5. Cal Poly, 75, 6. Oregon, 74, 6. Penn State, 74, 8. CS Bakersfield, 43, 9. Portland State, 38, 10. Central Michigan, 35.5, 11. UC Davis, 32, 12. Lassen, 21.5, 13. Stanford, 10.5.

ASU Individual Results
125 pounds

Round One: Matt Brown (Oklahoma State) pinned Chris Knox (unattached), 6:04
Jeff Charlebois (ASU) dec. Ryan Jung (unattached), 4-0
Quarterfinals: Ben Vanbaur (Boise State) dec. Jeff Charlebois (ASU), 8-4
Fifth Place: Jeff Charlebois (ASU) injury default Ruben DeLeon (CS Bakersfield)
Consolation: Ahmed Sanders (C. Michigan) dec. Chris Knox (unattached), 9-3
Jeff Charlebois (ASU) pinned Ahmed Sanders (C. Michigan), 7:25
Shaun Williams (Oregon) dec. Jeff Charlebois (ASU), 11-7

133 pounds
Round One: David Douglas (ASU) pinned Matt Hendren (Cal Poly), 4:08
Quarterfinals: David Douglas (ASU) major dec. Mike Anderson (unattached), 18-4
Semifinals: Johnny Thompson (unattached) dec. David Douglas (ASU), 4-3 tb

141 pounds
Pigtail: Derek Phillips (unattached) dec. Dan Hyman (ASU), 7-3
Consolation: Dan Hyman (ASU) dec. Eric Markiewicz (unattached), 7-4
Dan Hyman (ASU) dec. Branson Phillips (unattached), 3-0
Derek Phillips (unattached) dec. Dan Hyman (ASU), 13-4

149 pounds
Round One: Dana Holland (ASU) pinned Tony Overstake (Oregon), 5:49
Quarterfinals: Dana Holland (ASU) dec. Ty Morgan (C. Michigan), 6-4
Semifinals: Cedric Haymon (Cal Poly) dec. Dana Holland (ASU), 9-1
Fifth Place: Dana Holland (ASU) injury default Nate Wachter (Penn State)
Consolation: Collin Robertson (Boise State) injury default Dana Holland (ASU)

157 pounds
Round One: Rocky Smart (ASU) dec. Elizar Ceballos (CSU Bakersfield), 8-7
Quarterfinals: Rocky Smart (ASU) dec. Eric Arbogast (Portland State), 8-5
Semifinals: Rocky Smart (ASU) dec. Shane Roller (Oklahoma State), 4-3
Finals: Kirk White (Boise State) dec. Rocky Smart (ASU), 3-2

65 pounds
Round One: Steve Blackford (ASU) technical fall Casey Eager (unattached), 16-0
Quarterfinals: Steve Blackford (ASU) pinned Brody Barrios (Cal Poly), 4:16
Semifinals: Steve Blackford (ASU) major decision Jeremiah Jarvis (UC Davis), 13-1
Finals: Steve Blackford (ASU) dec. Ty Wilcox (Oklahoma State), 6-5

174 pounds
Round One: Curtis Owen (ASU) dec. Kevin Carr (C. Michigan), 15-8
Patrick Owens (Boise State) dec. Ron Renzi (unattached), 18-14
Quarterfinals: Curtis Owen (ASU) major decision Jack Wade (Indiana), 15-2
Semifinals: Tyrone Lewis (Oklahoma State) dec. Curtis Owen (ASU), 7-3
Consolation: Ron Renzi (unattached) dec. Raphael Santana (Lassen), 9-4
Quinn Collett (Portland State) dec. Ron Renzi (ASU), 7-4
Mark Becks (Penn State) major decision Curtis Owen (ASU), 16-4

184 pounds
Round One: R. D Pursell (ASU), bye
Quarterfinals: Daniel Cormier (Oklahoma State) major decision R.D. Pursell (ASU), 19-7
Fifth Place: R.D. Pursell (ASU) injury default Doug Lee (Oregon)
Consolation: R.D. Pursell (ASU) pinned Chuck Sandlin (Cal Poly), 4:45
Jeremy Wilson (Portland State) major decision R.D. Pursell (ASU), 11-2

197 pounds
Round One: Chael Sonnen (Oregon) pinned Andy Swanson (ASU), 2:12
Consolation: Brett Faustman (C. Michigan) dec. Andy Swanson (ASU), 7-3

Round One: Kellen Fluckiger (ASU), bye
Quarterfinals: Kellen Fluckiger (ASU), dec. Jim Kilcoyne (unattached), 4-1
Semifinals: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Bart Johnson (Boise State), 7-2
Finals: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Eric Webb (Oregon), 6-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network