Bear Bryant Award Finalists Announced

Dec. 22, 2000

HOUSTON (AP) - Bobby Bowden of Florida State and Bob Stoops of Oklahoma,whose teams will play in the Orange Bowl, were among six finalists selectedFriday for the Bear Bryant Award as college football coach of the year.

Also nominated in balloting by the National Sportscasters and SportswritersAssociation were Butch Davis of Miami, Dennis Erickson of Oregon State, LouHoltz of the South Carolina, and Dennis Franchione, who left Texas Christian tocoach Alabama.

The winner will be announced Jan. 17.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder