Two Left In 2000

Dec. 29, 2000

TEMPE, Ariz. -- The Arizona State men's basketball team (7-2), under third-year head coach Rob Evans, will complete their non-conference schedule while finishing off the year 2000 at the ASU Holiday Classic this weekend. ASU takes on the Ohio Bobcats Friday, Dec. 29, and then challenges either the Charlotte 49ers or the Pepperdine Waves Saturday, Dec. 30. Friday's tip will be at 8:30 p.m. (MST), with Saturday's consulation game at 6:00 p.m. and the championship contest at 8:30 p.m. Both Sun Devil games will be broadcast on KFYI 550 AM and XTRA 910 AM in Phoenix, with Tim Healey (play-by-play) and Vic Cegles (color) calling the action. The Sun Devils have held eight of their nine opponents under 70 points and are holding opponents to just 36.3 percent (168-463) from the field and 58 points per game. ASU's next four games are at home, where it is 18-3 (.857) over the past two seasons. Junior Awvee Storey already has three 20-point games this year, matching his total from last year. The only Sun Devils to post 20-point games last year were Storey, Pac-10 Player of the Year Eddie House (17) and Tanner Shell (1).

HOME HAS BEEN GOOD: Wells Fargo Arena/Ned Wulk Court was a solid home for ASU last year, as ASU matched the school record for home wins with a 14-3 (.820) mark. ASU won all 14 games at home against unranked opponents, losing only to No. 5 Arizona, No. 23 Oregon and No. 2 Stanford. ASU was 8-0 against non-conference foes at home last year. ASU's 14 home wins matched the school record set in 1974-75, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1990-91, 1994-95 and 1997-98. ASU is 18-3 (.857) at home over the past two seasons and has won 16 straight home games over non-conference foes.

2000 MARKS 34th YEAR OF CLASSIC: The Holiday Classic enters its 34th year in 2000 and its third consecutive operating as a Fiesta Bowl Event. The tournament is sponsored by the on-line site of the Arizona Republic, Through the years, the Classic has operated under five names, including the Sun Devil Classic (1963-'69 and 1974-'76), the Fiesta Classic (1977-'83, '98 ), the Kactus Klassic (1984-'88) and The Tribune Classic (1989-97). ASU's tourney began in 1963 and has run continuously since 1974. Arizona State has won 25 of the 33 Classics, including nine of the past 11. ASU has advanced to the championship 26 years in a row and 31 of 33 overall (the only exceptions in 1966 and '69). ASU's all-time record in the Classic is 55-11 (.833). ASU has won the tournament the past three seasons.

QUICK NOTES THROUGH NINE GAMES: ASU has outrebounded its opponent in eight of its first nine games (against Mercer tied with 38 apiece)...ASU is outrebounding its opponents by 8.3 boards per contest. ASU led the Pac-10 in offensive rebounds last year at 15.78 per game...Chad Prewitt has started 41 straight games...ASU has had four different players lead the team in scoring in its nine games (Prewitt, Awvee Storey, Alton Mason and Shawn Redhage)...ASU is 21-5 (.807) when leading at the half in the past two seasons.

VS. OHIO, CHARLOTTE, PEPPERDINE: ASU is 0-1 in its lifetime series against Ohio. The Bobcats won 97-81 during the 1956-57 season...Charlotte and ASU have never met...Pepperdine holds a 6-10 advantage over ASU, but the Sun Devils have won the last four contests, including 101-83 victory in the last meeting during the 1967-68 season.

ONE-AWAY: As early as Friday night, senior guard Alton Mason could walk away with sole possession of 10th on ASU's all-time steals list and 15th on ASU's all-time assists list. See below for details:

MASON ON CAREER LISTS: A look at Alton Mason on the ASU career lists:
1. Eddie House (1996-2000) 258
9. Bobby Thompson (1984-87) 127
10. Alex Austin (1986-90) 124
Alton Mason (1998-present) 124

1. Bobby Thompson (1983-87) 454
15. Ron Riley (1992-96) 239
Alton Mason (1998-present) 239

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder