2001 Pac-10 Softball Coaches' Poll Released

Jan. 16, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- ARIZONA and UCLA, which have 13 softball NCAA titles between them, were picked by Conference coaches to win the Pac-10 Softball Championship in 2001, it was announced today.

Last season, the Wildcats (2nd, Pac-10) finished tied for third in the College World Series while UCLA (3rd, Pac-10) took runner-up honors in the NCAA Tournament. Each of these perennial powers received 46 points overall, including four first-place votes.

ARIZONA STATE finished third with 34 points, followed by defending Pac-10 Champion WASHINGTON with 27 tallies. STANFORD received 25 points.

CALIFORNIA was chosen sixth with a mark of 20 points while OREGON STATE was picked seventh with 17 points. Rounding out the eight-team field was OREGON in eighth with nine points.

In 1999 and 2000, Pac-10 softball placed all eight members in the NCAA Tournament field, marking the first time in any sport that a conference has sent all of its teams to the NCAA Tournament, and in consecutive seasons, respectively.


1. Arizona (4) 46 UCLA (4) 46 3. Arizona St. 34 4. Washington 27 5. Stanford 25 6. California 20 7. Oregon St. 17 8. Oregon 9

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder