Baseball Alumni Game To Feature Several Former Sun Devil Greats

Jan. 19, 2001

Complete Alumni Game Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Led by a group of former Arizona State baseball players who starred on the diamond in recent years under head coach Pat Murphy, the annual Alumni Game will be held tomorrow, Saturday Jan. 20 at Packard Stadium. Game time is schedule for 1 p.m.

Former Sun Devil Willie Bloomquist (1997-1999) is one of the featured alumni who will battle against the 2001 varsity squad that enter the season ranked sixth in the nation. Bloomquist has had a stellar professional career since leaving Tempe after his junior season in 1999. Last year the second basemen was named a minor league all-star after hitting .379 at Single-A Lancaster and got promoted to Triple-A Tacoma in the Pacific Coast League. After hitting .303 during last Spring Training with the Seattle Mariners, Bloomquist has been invited to the Major League camp once again and has a chance at making the team as a backup infielder. Bloomquist was an All-American and Pac-10 Player of the Year during his playing days at ASU, hitting .394 for his career.

Mitch Jones (1999-2000) is coming back for the Alumni Game as well after only leaving ASU after a stellar senior season last year. Jones set a single-season Arizona State record with 27 home runs in leading the Sun Devils to a Pac-10 Championship in 2000. Jones led the NCAA in home runs per game and was a finalist for the National Player of the Year Award.

Other players competing for the Alumni team will be current minor league players Richy Leon (1995-98), Andrew Beinbrink (1996-99), Jeremy Jones (1998), Mike Collins (1996-98), Dan McKinley (1995-97), Jay Sitzman (1997-99), Phil Downing (2000), Brett Cadiente (1999), Mikel Moreno (1995-98), Cody McKay (1993-96), Greg Halvorson (1996-98) and Jason Bond (1994-96).

Several other former ASU players will be on hand, but will not play, and include the following players: Phill Lowery (1996-98), Kaipo Spenser (1994-96), Ryan Bradley (1995-97), Jeff Cermak (1996-97), Louie Medina (1984-85), Dan Ikeda (1960-62), Ken Phelps (1975-76), Mike Gallagher (1965-66), Tommy Adams (1989-91), Charlie Williamson (1999), Chip Gosewisch (1996-99) and Todd Steverson (1990-92).

Tickets for the Alumni Game will sold at the gate for $3 to $5 or can you call the ASU Ticket Office at (480) 965-2381 for more details. Those media members who have not received their season credentials, please contact the ASU Media Relations Office at (480) 965-6592. The Sun Devils officially start the 2001 season Jan. 26 at 3 p.m. against Texas-Arlington.

--Sun Devil Baseball--
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder