Ellis Named NSCAA/adidas Coach of the Year

Jan. 19, 2001

Indianapolis, Ind. -- UCLA women's soccer coach Jillian Eliis received the highest honor in collegiate soccer on Friday when she was named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) / adidas Coach of the Year at the NSCAA National Convention in Indianapolis, Ind.

In only her second season as head coach at UCLA, Ellis guided the Bruins to their first-ever Final Four appearance in 2000, falling to North Carolina, 2-1 in the finals of the College Cup in San Jose. UCLA ended the season with its highest ranking in the eight-year history of the program as the Bruins finished at No. 2 in the final rankings with a 19-4-1 overall record.

Ellis, who is also the head coach the Under-21 U.S. National Team, is the first UCLA women's coach, and the first coach from the Pac-10, to receive this honor.

Past NSCAA / adidas NationalCoaches of the Year (Women Div. I)1982 Anson Dorrance, North Carolina1983 David Lombardo, Keene State College1984 Philip Picince, Brown University1985 Kalenkeni M. Banda, UMass1986 Anson Dorrance, North Carolina1987 Kalenkeni M. Banda, UMass1988 Larry Gross, NC State1989 Austin Daniels, Hartford1990 Lauren Gregg, Virginia1991 Greg Ryan, Wisconsin-Madison1992 Bill Hempen, Duke1993 Jac Cicala, George Mason1994 Chris Petrucelli, Notre Dame1995 Chris Petrucelli, Notre Dame1996 John Walker, Nebraska1997 Len Tsantiris, Connecticut1998 Becky Burleigh, Florida1999 Patrick Farmer, Penn State2000 Jillian Ellis, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder