Ex-Trojans Lynn Swann And Ron Yary Named To Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Jan. 27, 2001

LOS ANGELES - Former USC football stars Lynn Swann and Ron Yary wereelected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today (Jan. 27).

Swann was a 1973 consensus All-American flanker at Troy and was a memberof USC's 1972 national championship team. He then played 9 seasons (1974-82)with the Pittsburgh Steelers and appeared in Super Bowls IX, X, XIII and XIV(earning MVP honors in Super Bowl X)

Yary was a 2-time All-American offensive tackle for the Trojans and wonthe Outland Trophy in 1967 as a member of Troy's national champs. He was theNo. 1 pick of the 1968 NFL draft and played 15 years for the MinnesotaVikings (1968-82) and then the Los Angeles Rams (1982). He played in SuperBowls IV, XIII, IX and XI.

Both Swann and Yary also are members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

They join 7 former Trojan players-Red Badgro, Frank Gifford, Ronnie Lott,Ron Mix, Anthony Munoz, O.J. Simpson and Willie Wood-and 3 ex-USC assistantcoaches-Al Davis, Joe Gibbs and Mel Hein-in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder