2001 Naismith Finalists Announced

Feb. 12, 2001

ATLANTA (AP) - Shane Battier of Duke and twins Coco and Kelly Miller ofGeorgia are among the finalists for the 2001 Naismith college basketball playerof the year awards.

The finalists, announced Monday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, were selected bya national advisory board of coaches, journalists and administrators. Thewinners will be announced in Atlanta April 7.

The other finalists for the men's award include Charlie Bell and JasonRichardson of Michigan State, Jarron Collins and Casey Jacobsen of Stanford,Joseph Forte and Brendan Haywood of North Carolina, Troy Murphy of Notre Dameand Jason Williams of Duke.

The other finalists for the women's award include Svetlana Abrosimova, SueBird and Shea Ralph, all of Connecticut, and Tamika Catchings and Michelle Snowof Tennessee.

Naismith Player of the Year FinalistsBy The Associated Press

Shane Battier, Duke
Charlie Bell, Michigan State
Troy Bell, Boston College
Michael Bradley, Villanova
Jarron Collins, Stanford
Joseph Forte, North Carolina
Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
Brendan Haywood, North Carolina
Casey Jacobsen, Stanford
Terence Morris, Maryland
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame
Jason Richardson, Michigan State
Jamaal Tinsley, Iowa State
Jason Williams, Duke
Michael Wright, Arizona

Svetlana Ambrosimova, Connecticut
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Tamika Catchings, Tennessee
Katie Douglas, Purdue
Marie Ferdinand, Louisiana State
Brandi McCain, Florida
Coco Miller, Georgia
Kelly Miller, Georgia
Shea Ralph, Connecticut
Ruth Riley, Notre Dame
Georgia Schweitzer, Duke
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Jackie Stiles, Southwest Missouri
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder