2001 Pac-10 Wrestling Championship

Feb. 21, 2001

PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPSThe 41st Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships will take place Sunday, Feb. 25 and Monday, Feb. 26 at McArthur Court on the campus of the University of Oregon in Eugene, Ore. The two-day tournament is divided into four sessions culminating with the championship finals matches Monday evening. First-round action commences at 11 a.m. PST on Sunday Morning. Championship finals begin at 6:30 p.m. PST Monday night. Following is the tournament schedule. Note that times listed are Pacific Standard Times (PST).

Sunday, February 2511 a.m. - Session I (Pigtails & Quarterfinals)6 p.m. - Session II (Consolation & Semifinals)

Monday, Feb. 2611 a.m - Session III (Consolation Semifinals & Fifth Place matches)


McARTHUR COURTThe facility will have 4,500 seats open with more being available, if needed. Seating for the Championships is general admission only.

SEEDING MEETINGThe Pac-10 Wrestling coaches' seeding meeting will take place Saturday, Feb. 24, at 2:00 p.m. in the Moshofsky Center. At that time, technical aspects of the meet will be discussed, along with agenda items submitted to the Pac-10 office.

MEDIA SERVICESDave WIlliford, Media Relations Director at the University of Oregon, will coordinate the media for the 2001 Pac-10 Championships. All requests for press credentials should be directed to Williford at (541) 346-5488. All Pac-10 Championship results will be updated daily on the Conference website, www.pac-10.org and the University of Oregon Athletics' web page, www.goducks.com.

TICKETSSession tickets are $7 per adult and $6 per senior, student or child. All-session passes are priced at $25 for adults and $21 for seniors, students or children. Child tickets start at age 2. For more information, contact the Oregon ticket office at 1-800-WEBFOOT.

TELEVISIONThe Pac-10 Championship Finals will be televised on Fox Sports Net.

AT STAKEIn addition to the Pac-10 championship, at stake is a berth to the NCAA Championships, which will take place March 15-17 at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa. The top four wrestlers in each weight class will automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships, along with three other at-large wrestlers.

NCAA RANKINGSFollowing is the Amateur Wrestling News/National Wrestling Coaches Association Top 25 and the individual Pac-10 wrestlers who are currently ranked in their respective weight classes as seen by InterMat. Please note the team rankings are from last week's poll (Feb. 14). The current poll will be released later this week and may change slightly before competition begins on Saturday.

National Wrestling Cchs. Assc.	Div. I College Wrestling Poll

1. Minnesota (13) 18-1 2. Oklahoma State 15-1 3. Michigan 15-3-1 4. Iowa 17-3 5. Iowa State 18-4 6. Oklahoma 18-4-1 7. Illinois 11-2 8. Ohio State 15-4 9. Nebraska 11-5 10. Lehigh 15-5 11. ARIZONA STATE 10-4 12. Michigan State 5-7 13. Edinboro 9-3-1 14. BOISE STATE 6-3 15. Lock Haven 20-2 16. Fresno State 10-5 17. OREGON STATE 12-6 18. Northern Iowa 12-7 19. OREGON 6-7 20. Hofstra 6-7 21. Wisconsin 9-9-1 22. Indiana 14-5 23. Penn State 8-10 24. Central Michigan14-4 25. Purdue 8-6

Pac-10 Individual National Rankings

	125-  	5. 	Ruben DeLeon, CSB		8.	Nathan  Navarro, OSU		10.	Shaun WIlliams, ORE		15.	Ben Vombaur, BSU

133- 11. David Douglas, ASU 16. Brian Watson, ORE 17. Ben Richards, OSU 141- 3. Eric Larkin, ASU

149- 13. Cedric Haymon, CP

157- 4. Kirk White, BSU 5. Eric Jorgenson, OSU 9. Rocky Smart, ASU 20. Eugene Harris, ORE

165- 5. Steve Blackford, ASU 15. Ian Nelms, CSB

174- 8. Nathan Coy, OSU 15. Curtis Owen, ASU 20. Steve Strange, CP

184- 7. Doug Lee, ORE 8. Cash Edwards, BSU 17. Jeremy WIlson, PSU

197- 5. Rusty Cook, BSU 6. Chael Sonnen, ORE

285- 5. Eric Webb, ORE 9. Jason Cooley, OSU 14. Kellan Fuckiger, ASU

RECAP OF LAST YEARBOISE STATE won its first Pac-10 Championship in 2000, hosted by UC DAVIS in Davis, Calif. The Broncos won the title with a score of 133.5, edging out ARIZONA STATE by eight points. Nine out of ten Conference teams sent qualifiers to the NCAA Championships and eight wrestlers received All-America Honors. Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year honors went to ARIZONA STATE's Steve Blackford, who finished first at the Pac-10 Championships and third at the NCAA Championships in the 165-lbs. weight class. CAL STATE FULLERTON's TJ Hill took home the Newcomer of the Year award while Boise State's Mike Young was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Team Results

1.	Boise State	133.52.	Arizona State	125.53.	Oregon State	102.04.	CS Bakersfield	101.55.	Oregon		72.56.	CS Fullerton	64.57.	Stanford	40.08.	Portland State	38.59.	Cal Poly	28.510.	UC Davis	24.0

Individual Champions

125	KC Rock, BSU133	Zach Zimmerer, STAN141	Jonathon Archuleta, CSB149	Quinn Foster, ASU157	Larry Quisel, BSU165	Steve Blackford, BSU174	Jason Webster, CSF184	Doug Lee, ORE197	Rusty Cook, BSUHt.	Jason Cooley, OSU
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder