No. 11 Wrestling in First Place After First Day of Pac-10 Championships

Feb. 26, 2001

EUGENE, Calif. -- Arizona State's 11th-ranked wrestling team finished the first day of competition at the 2001 Pac-10 Championships in first place with 92 points as five Sun Devils advanced to the championship matches of their respective weight classes at the University of Oregon's McArthur Court Sunday.

Junior David Douglas (133 pounds), sophomore All-American Eric Larkin (141), junior Dana Holland (149), senior All-American Steve Blackford (165) and sophomore Kellan Fluckiger (HWT) all went 2-0 to advance through the championship bracket Sunday and will battle for conference titles Monday night.

In the hunt for third-place conference finishes are sophomore Rocky Smart (157), junior Curtis Owen (174) and senior R.D. Pursell (184). All three Sun Devils suffered second-round losses to put them in the consolation semifinal rounds Monday afternoon.

Trailing ASU in the team race is second-place Oregon State with 86 points, followed by host Oregon in third with 81.50 points. Defending Pac-10 Champion Boise State is in fourth place with 81 points.

The Sun Devils will aim for their third conference title in five years when the Pac-10 Championships conclude today. The top four finishers in each weight class and three at-large selections will also earn NCAA qualifying berths. Consolation semifinals and fifth-place matches begin Monday at 12 p.m. MST, while the championship finals and third place matches are scheduled to begin at 7:30 MST.

Pacific-10 Championships - Day One Results
February 25, 2001, Eugene, Ore., McArthur Court

125 Pounds
Shaun Williams (Oregon) major dec. Chris Knox (ASU), 19-7
Brian Gilliland (CS Fullerton) major dec. Chris Knox (ASU), 12-4

133 Pounds
David Douglas (ASU) dec. Nate Ybarra (Cal Poly), 8-3
David Douglas (ASU) dec. Charlie Griggs (Boise State), 4-0
Championship Match: David Douglas (ASU) vs. Brian Watson (Oregon)

141 Pounds
Eric Larkin (ASU) pinned Dallen Phillips (UC Davis), 2:29
Eric Larkin (ASU) dec. Gabe Vigil (Boise State), 6-1
Championship Match: Eric Larkin (ASU) vs. Shane Cunanan (Oregon State)

149 PoundsDana Holland (ASU) disqualification Casey Horn (Oregon State)
Dana Holland (ASU) dec. Tony Overstake (Oregon), 9-7
Championship Match: Dana Holland (ASU) vs. Cedric Haymon (Cal Poly)

157 PoundsRocky Smart (ASU) pinned Isaiah Camp (Stanford), 2:24
Eric Jorgensen (Oregon State) dec. Rocky Smart (ASU), 5-2
Consolation Semifinal: Rocky Smart (ASU) vs. Elizar Ceballos (CS Bakersfield)

165 Pounds
Steve Blackford (ASU) pinned Leonel Sanchez (CS Fullerton), 2:33
Steve Blackford (ASU) dec. Ian Nelms (CS Bakersfield), 7-6
Championship Match: Steve Blackford (ASU) vs. Burt Pierson (UC Davis)

174 Pounds
Curtis Owen (ASU) dec. Quinn Collett (Portland State), 7-4
Nathan Coy (Oregon State) dec. Curtis Owen (ASU), 8-7
Consolation Semifinal: Curtis Owen (ASU) vs. Chris Carlino (CS Bakersfield)

184 Pounds
R.D. Pursell (ASU) dec. Harold Penson (Stanford), 3-2
Doug Lee (Oregon) dec. R.D. Pursell (ASU), 5-1
Consolation Semifinal: R.D. Pursell (ASU) vs. Isaac Weber (Oregon State)

197 Pounds
Rusty Cook (Boise State) pinned Mike Marshall (ASU), 1:51
David Schenk (Cal Poly) pinned Mike Marshall (ASU), 1:45

HWTKellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Mike Maben (UC Davis), 5-4
Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) major dec. John Devine (CS Bakersfield), 11-0
Championship Match: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) vs. Jason Cooley (Oregon State)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder