Track and Field Hosts Bill Sawyer Invitational Saturday

Feb. 27, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week --
Arizona State track and field will send 11 athletes to the Iowa State Last Chance Meet, Friday, March 2, while the rest of the Sun Devil contingent will remain at home to open the outdoor season hosting the Bill Sawyer Invitational, Saturday, March 3 at Sun Angel Stadium. Friday's Last Chance Meet kicks off with field events at noon CST and running events at 2 p.m. CST. The Bill Sawyer Invitational begins with field events at 9 a.m. MST, and running events at 11 a.m.

Iowa State Entries --
ASU head coach Greg Kraft will send seven individuals along with the men's distance medley relay to the Iowa State NCAA Qualifying Meet Friday. Also competing in Ames will be senior Mary Duerbeck (5000m), senior Kelly MacDonald (5000m), sophomore Brianna Torres (5000m), senior Adrienne Judie (shot put), senior Valerie Williams (long jump), freshman Ebon Glenn (high jump) and junior Tony Galaviz (60mH).

Indoor Season Winding Down --
Just one more week remains before the NCAA Indoor Championships will be held Friday, March 9 through Saturday March 10, hosted by the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Ark. Not including Friday's last chance meet, ASU has tallied a total of 13 NCAA indoor qualifying performances. Leading the list are three automatic qualifiers: senior Michael Campbell (400m), sophomore Tiffany Greer (long jump) and senior Adrienne Judie (weight-throw). Campbell's 400m personal-best time of 46.22 ranks fourth in the nation, as does Greer's season-best long jump effort of 21 feet, 0.5 inches. Judie's personal-best and school-record weight throw mark of 64-10.0 is the seventh-best effort in the nation this season, and she also has earned a PQ in the shot put with a mark of 50-10.25. Both ASU's men's and women's 1600m relay teams posted PQ times at the MPSF championships, while the additional Sun Devil provisional qualifiers are senior Tony Berrian (400m), senior Mary Duerbeck (5000m), junior Tony Galaviz (60mH), freshman Ebon Glenn (high jump), senior Vince Jones (60m), and senior Kelly MacDonald (mile, 5000m).

Last Year at the Bill Sawyer Invitational --
ASU won seven meet titles at last year's Bill Sawyer Invitational, led by double-winner Sharesa Turner who swept the 100 and 200 meter races with times of 12.09 and 24.30, respectively. Additional winners for the Sun Devils included Lisa Aguilera in the women's 800m (2:11.79), Candi Criscione in the women's 1500m (4:37.63), Elizabeth Arollo in the women's 100m hurdles (1:09.09), Pete Lopez in the men's 200m (21.36) and Jeremy Rasmussen in the men's 2000m steeple chase (5:52.86).

National Rankings --
The Arizona State women jumped back into the national rankings last week, checking in at No. 25 in the Feb. 20 poll after a three-week absence. The ASU men have failed to appear in this season's top-25, according to Trackwire. This week's poll has not yet been updated on

Men's 1600m Relay Team Sets ASU, MPSF Indoor Record --
Arizona State's 1600m relay team of senior Michael Campbell, freshman Jason Barton, junior Pete Lopez and senior Tony Berrian set an ASU indoor record and MPSF record as well with a winning effort and NCAA qualifying time of 3:07.02, highlighting the two-day Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Championships last weekend. The Sun Devils improved upon the previous record by over minute, as the 1999 team of Vondre Armour, Dwight Phillips, Marcus Brunson and Berrian clocked a time of 3:08.35. The small contingent of ASU athletes that competed in Flagstaff last weekend tallied two meet crowns, as junior Tony Galaviz won the 60m hurdles in an altitude adjusted time of 7.97. The women's 1600m relay team of junior Candida Coulson, sophomore Courtnie Ratliff, redshirt-freshman Seneca Holmes and sophomore Joni Smith turned in a provisional qualifying time of their own, placing second in 3:41.77. Senior Sharesa Turner added runner-up honors in the 60m with a time of 7.73a. Senior Adrienne Judie posted yet another PQ in the shot put, placing fifth with a mark of 49 feet, 2.5 inches. Judie's mark did not exceed her season best in the event (50-10.25), yet every shot and weight-throw effort the senior thrower has made this indoor season has met provisional or automatic standards. As a team, the ASU women finished in fourth place with 51.5 points, while the ASU men placed seventh with 32.5 points. Winning the women's championship was host Arizona with 142 points, while Washington State earned the men's conference title with 108.5.

Notable Newcomers --
Many of ASU's notable performances thus far have come from Sun Devils joining the team this season. On the men's side, the sprinting corps has been bolstered by junior transfer Tony Galaviz and true freshman Jason Barton. Galaviz earned a provisional qualifying mark in the 60m hurdles in his first ever race as a Sun Devil and has won four straight meet titles in the event. Barton placed sixth out of 80 competitors in the 400m at the Iowa State Classic and has the third fastest ASU time in the 400m this season, behind sprinting sensations Campbell and Berrian. True freshman Ebon Glenn has already made great strides in his young collegiate career, winning three straight high jump titles and earning a provisional mark with a personal best mark of 7-1.5. In the thrower's circle, junior transfer David Wood owns ASU's best season marks for the shot put and weight throw. For the women, redshirt-freshman Seneca Holmes won two straight 60m hurdles races in her first three collegiate meets. Sophomore transfer Joanie Baca has also turned in the women's fastest indoor 800m time so far this season (2:14.15).

Steeplechase Added to Women's Outdoor Lineup --
This season the women's steeplechase has been added as a possible NCAA event and will debut Saturday at the Bill Sawyer Invitational, scheduled to be the second running event of the meet.

Up Next --
Those ASU athletes who qualify will compete in the 2001 NCAA Indoor Championships hosted by the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Ark., March 9-10. Events on Friday begin at noon local time, while Saturday's schedule commences at 2 p.m. local time.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder