Women's Swimming And Diving Wins Pac-10 Title!

March 6, 2001

Los Angeles, CA- In a year that has been mired with recounts, the Pac-10 Swimming and Diving Championships was no exception as the conference championships scores were re-tallied and in a stunning turn of events, the Bruins were awarded its first Pac-10 Conference title. UCLA finished with 1,338 points followed by Arizona who finished with a point total of 1,289.50.

The original tabulation of the championships meet results gave Arizona the Pac-10 championship by a 1,229.50 - 1,130.00 margin over UCLA. Those results failed to include all points awarded in the diving competition.

The scoring discrepancy was especially evident in the platform event in which ninth through 24th place were not awarded points. All of the UCLA divers fell into that criteria, Regan Gosnell was ninth, Anne Baghramian placed 10th, Chrissie Amorosia was 11th, Michelle Brown was 12th and Jennifer McNally was 14th.

'Our goal this season was to win the Pac-10s,' said UCLA Head Coach Gallagher. 'All of our hard work paid off. Our team motto has been 'In It To Win It' which originated with former assistant coach Byron Davis.'

Corrected 2001 Pac-10 Women's Swimming and Diving Championships Results:

1. UCLA 1,338.00 2. Arizona 1,289.50 3. USC 1,112.50 4. Stanford 1,085.50 5. California 1,001.50 6. Arizona State 853.00 7. Washington State 432.00 8. Washington 365.00 9. Oregon State 285.00

The UCLA diving team will return to Federal Way, WA to participate in the NCAA Zone E Championships on March 9-10. The swimmers will continue to prepare for the NCAA Championships in Long Island, NY which will be held from March 15-17.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network