Angela Williams Takes On The World This Weekend

March 8, 2001

Angela Williams, the USC school record holder and two time NCAA outdoor champion in the 100 meters, will compete along with 48 other members of Team USA this weekend (March 9-11) at the IAAF World Indoor Track and Field Championships in Lisbon, Portugal.

Williams, along with Chrystie Gaines, will represent the U.S. in the 60-meter dash. The junior from Ontario, Calif., finished second in that event to Gaines at last weekend's U.S. Indoor Championships in Atlanta with a time of 7.34. Her best time of 7.16 to win the 60-meters in Pocatello, Ida., on Feb. 17 (a race in which Gaines placed second) is the second-fastest U.S. mark and the eighth-fastest in the world in 2001 and also the third-fastest collegiate time ever.

Known for her explosive starts, Williams holds the USC record in the 100 meters at 11.04 and also ran the lead off leg for the Women of Troy's school record 400-meter relay squad that won the NCAA title in 2000 in a time of 43.14. Williams will attempt this year to become the first woman ever to win three straight NCAA 100 meter titles.

Team USA Roster, 2001 IAAF Indoor Track & Field Championships,March 9-11, Lisbon, Portugal


60m: Chryste Gaines, Angela Williams

200m: LaTasha Jenkins, Kelli White

400m: Suziann Reid, Monique Hennagan

800m: Jearl Miles-Clark, Jennifer Toomey

1,500m: Collette Liss, Miesha Marzell

3,000m: Regina Jacobs, Cheri Kenah

60m Hurdles: Anjanette Kirkland, Bisa Grant

High Jump: Amy Acuff

Long Jump: Dawn Burrell

Pole Vault: Stacy Dragila, Kellie Suttle

Shot Put: Connie Price-Smith

Triple Jump: Tiombe Hurd

4x400 Relay: Suziann Reid, Monique Hennagan, Tasha Downing, Donna Howard


60m: Tim Harden, Tim Montgomery

200m: Kevin Little, Shawn Crawford

400m: James Davis, Milton Campbell

800m: Trinity Gray, Elliott Gaskins

1,500m: Seneca Lassiter, Jason Lunn

3,000m: Tim Broe, Brad Hauser

60m Hurdles: Terrence Trammell, Tony Dees

High Jump: Nathan Leeper, Charles Austin

Long Jump: Melvin Lister, Kevin Dilworth

Pole Vault: Lawrence Johnson, Tye Harvey

Shot Put: Adam Nelson, John Godina

Triple Jump: Kenta Bell

Heptathlon: Chris Huffins, Stephen Moore

4x400m Relay: James Davis, Milton Campbell, Jerome Young, Leonard Byrd

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network