Charli Turner Thorne Named One of Eight Finalists for Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year

March 8, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State women's basketball head coach Charli Turner Thorne is one of eight finalists for the 2001 Russell Athletic/WBCA Division I National Coach of the Year Award, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Thursday.

As a finalist, Turner Thorne earns the distinction of WBCA District 8 Coach of the Year as selected by WBCA member coaches from that geographical region. This season, Turner Thorne has led the Sun Devils to their most victories since 1991-92 with a 19-9 overall record and an 11-4 Pac-10 mark. The Sun Devils are still in the hunt for their first ever Pac-10 Conference title as they wrap up the regular season this weekend and will be looking for their first NCAA Tournament invitational in nine years when the tournament bracket is announced Sunday.

Other district winners and national award finalists are Muffet McGraw of Notre Dame (District 1), Gail Goestenkors of Duke (2), Carol Ross of Florida (3), Mark Ehlen of Toledo (4), Sherri Coale of Oklahoma (5), Lisa Bluder of Iowa (6) and Elaine Elliot of Utah (7).

The 2001 Russell Athletic/WBCA Division I National Coach of the Year will be determined by a WBCA committee, which will convene via conference call March 16 to select the winner. The winner of the Division I award will be invited to join winners at the D ivision II, III, NAIA, junior college/community college and high school levels to be honored at a banquet Wednesday, March 28 in St. Louis, Mo., in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Final Four.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network