Felicia Ragland Named Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year

March 12, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Oregon State University's Felicia Ragland was named the Pacific-10 Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year and Leilani Estavan earned honorable mention All-Freshman honors, announced Commissioner Tom Hansen on Monday.

Ragland, a 5-9 guard, has been instrumental in leading Oregon State to its best record (16-12) since 1995-96 and its first post-season tournament appearance (WNIT) in five years. She is a two-time All-Pac-10 selection and the third Oregon State player to earn Pac-10 Player of the Year honors - most recently OSU all-time leading scorer Tanja Kostic was recognized in 1996.

Ragland, a junior, is in a tight race for the Pac-10 scoring title, ranking first at 19.9 points per game. She is attempting to become just the second Beaver to lead the Pac-10 in scoring, and first since Kostic in 1995. Ragland ranks fifth in the conference in rebounding (7.5 rpg.), third in steals (2.61 spg.), first in 3-point field goal percentage (.466) and third in 3-pointers made (2.21 avg.). On the season, the Tulare, CA native has buried 62 3-point baskets, shattering the Oregon State single season record of 43.

In Pac-10 play, Ragland reached double figures in scoring in 26 of 28 games, posted five double-doubles and scored 20+ points on 12 occasions. She has scored 30+ points three times this season and has tallied seven double-doubles.

Ragland is one of just eight OSU players to score 1,000 career points (1,150) and grab 500 career rebounds (521).

Estavan, a red-shirt freshman from Los Angeles, CA leads the Pac-10 in assist-turnover ratio (2.29) and ranks third in assists with 4.82 per game. Since entering Oregon State's starting line-up, Estavan is averaging 7.1 assists over the past seven games.

Oregon State opens first round WNIT action this Friday in Gill Coliseum with a game against BYU. Tip-off is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Tickets may be purchased in the OSU Ticket Office or by calling 1-800-GOBEAVS.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Felicia Ragland (OSU)
PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Nicole Powell (Stanford)
PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR - Charli Turner Thorne (ASU)

ALL PAC-10 TEAM:Name School Pos Yr Ht HometownReshea Bristol ARIZ G Sr. 5-10 Omaha, Neb.Megan Franza* WASH G Sr. 5-11 Leavenworth, Wash.Michelle Greco UCLA G Jr. 5-9 LaCrescenta, Calif.Courtney Johnson CAL G Sr. 5-8 Antioch, Calif.Melody Johnson ASU C Jr. 6-2 Colorado Springs, Colo.Amanda Levens ASU G Jr. 5-9 Belvidere, Ill.Elizabeth Pickney ARIZ F Jr. 6-4 Houston, TexasNicole Powell STAN G Fr. 6-2 Phoenix, Ariz.Felicia Ragland* OSU G Jr. 5-9 Tulare, Calif.Angelina Wolvert* ORE F Sr. 6-3 Camas, Wash.*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (Received votes)Kenya Corley (CAL, Sr., G), Sarah Dimson (STAN, Sr., F), Ebony Hoffman(USC, Fr., F/C), Brianne Meharry (ORE, Sr., F), Giuliana Mendiola (WASH,Fr., G), Katie Nyseth (WSU, Sr., G), Lindsey Yamasaki (STAN, Jr., G/F).

PAC-10 ALL-FRESHMAN TEAMName School Pos Ht HometownBetsy Boardman ASU G 6-1 Beaverton, Ore.Ebony Hoffman USC F/C 6-3 Harbor City, Calif.Veranda James ARIZ F 6-3 Pomona, Calif.Giuliana Mendiola WASH G 5-10 Lake Forest, Calif.Nicole Powell STAN G 6-2 Phoenix, Ariz.

HONORABLE MENTION (Received Votes)Leilani Estavan (OSU, G), Aisha Hollans (USC, G), Andrea Lalum (WASH, F),Latasha O'Keith (CAL, G).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network