Hoffman, Hollans Receive Pac-10 Honors

March 12, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- USC freshman forward Ebony Hoffman has been named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman team and the All-Pac-10 honorable mention squad, while freshman Aisha Hollans was named All-Freshman honorable mention Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Hoffman (Harbor City, Calif.) is the first USC player to earn All-Freshman honors since Erica Mashia in 1995-96. She started 24 games for the Women of Troy this season, leading the squad in scoring (12.5 ppg), rebounding (8.0 rpg) and FT% (.758). Hoffman ranks third in the Pac-10 in rebounding, sixth in FT%, eighth in blocked shots (0.93 bpg), second in offensive rebounding (3.14 bpg) and third in defensive rebounding (4.82 bpg). Hoffman notched four double-doubles on the season, and scored a season-high 21 points at Stanford (Mar. 1). She tied one other player for the Pac-10's top rebounding performance this season with 17 boards at Oregon (Jan. 25).

Junior guard Felicia Ragland of Oregon State has been named the conference Player of the Year, guard Nicole Powell of Stanford has been selected the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Arizona State coach Charli Turner Thorne has been named Coach of the Year.

The complete Conference honors, as selected by the Conference's 10 head coaches, are listed below:

Name School Pos. Ht. Hometown

Betsy Boardman ASU G 6-1 Beaverton, Ore.
Ebony Hoffman USC F/C 6-3 Harbor City, Calif.
Veranda James ARIZ F 6-3 Pomona, Calif.
Giuliana Mendiola WASH G 5-10 Lake Forest, Calif.
Nicole Powell STAN G 6-2 Phoenix, Ariz.

Leilani Estavan (OSU, G), Aisha Hollans (USC, G), Andrea Lalum (WASH, F), Latasha O'Keith (CAL, G).

Name School Pos. Yr. Ht. Hometown

Reshea Bristol ARIZ G Sr. 5-10 Omaha, Neb.
Megan Franza* WASH G Sr. 5-11 Leavenworth, Wash.
Michelle Greco UCLA G Jr. 5-9 LaCrescenta, Calif.
Courtney Johnson CAL G Sr. 5-8 Antioch, Calif.
Melody Johnson ASU C Jr. 6-2 Colorado Springs, Colo.
Amanda Levens ASU G Jr. 5-9 Belvidere, Ill.
Elizabeth Pickney ARIZ F Jr. 6-4 Houston, Texas
Nicole Powell STAN G Fr. 6-2 Phoenix, Ariz.
Felicia Ragland* OSU G Jr. 5-9 Tulare, Calif.
Angelina Wolvert* ORE F Sr. 6-3 Camas, Wash.
*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Kenya Corley (CAL, Sr., G), Sarah Dimson (STAN, Sr., F), Ebony Hoffman (USC, Fr., F/C), Brianne Meharry (ORE, Sr., F), Giuliana Mendiola (WASH, Fr., G), Katie Nyseth (WSU, Sr., G), Lindsey Yamasaki (STAN, Jr., G/F).

Player of the Year - Felecia Ragland, Oregon State
Freshman of the Year - Nicole Powell, Stanford
Coach of the Year - Charlie Turner Thorne, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network