Sean Lampley Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

March 12, 2001

BERKELEY - Cal senior forward Sean Lampley, who leads the Pac-10 in scoring with 19.7 ppg, has been named the conference's Player of the Year in a vote of the league coaches.

Lampley is the fourth Golden Bear to receive the honor, joining Jason Kidd (1994), Shareef Abdur-Rahim (1996) and Ed Gray (1997).

Also an All-Pac-10 selection in 2000, Lampley was a member of the Pac-10 All-Freshman team in 1998. In addition to his scoring average, he ranks seventh in the conference in rebounding (7.2 rpg) and 10th in field goal shooting (51.0%).

Earlier this season, Lampley passed Lamond Murray to become the school's all-time leading scorer, and he heads into the NCAA Tournament with 1,763 points.

The Pac-10 award is one of several postseason honors to come Lampley's way this year. The others include The Sporting News Pac-10 Player of the Year, NABC first team All-District and All-American.

Below is a list of the 2001 Pac-10 awards:

All-Pac-10 Team

Gilbert Arenas, ArizonaBryan Bracey, OregonSam Clancy, USCJarron Collins, StanfordJason Collins, StanfordCasey Jacobsen, StanfordJason Kapono, UCLASean Lampley, CaliforniaEarl Watson, UCLAMichael Wright, Arizona

All-FreshmanCurtis Allen, WashingtonT.J. Cummings, UCLALuke Jackson, OregonMarcus Moore, Washington StateLuke Ridnour, Oregon

Pac-10 Player of the Year: Sean Lampley, CaliforniaPac-10 Coach of the Year: Steve Lavin, UCLAPac-10 Freshman of the Year: Luke Ridnour, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network