Jason Kapono Garners AP All-America Honors

March 13, 2001

LOS ANGELES - Duke teammates Shane Battier and Jason Williams and North Carolina'sJosephForte were the top vote-getters on the Associated Press All-America teamannounced Tuesday, just the second time three players from the sameconferencemade the first team.

Notre Dame's Troy Murphy, the 44th player to repeat as an All-American,andCasey Jacobsen, Stanford's first first-team selection, also were chosen bythenational media panel.

Battier, the only senior on the All-America team, was one vote shy ofbeinga unanimous selection. The 6-foot-8 forward was on 70 first-team ballots andhad 353 points in the 5-3-1 voting system.

The national defensive player the last two seasons, Battier averaged19.5points and 6.8 rebounds in leading Duke, which was No. 1 in the finalregular-season poll for a the third straight season, joining UCLA from1971-73as the only teams to do that.

Battier, a second-team All-America last season, and Williams, a 6-2sophomore who averaged 20.8 points, 6.2 assists and 1.9 steals, are theeighthpair of teammates to be selected for the first team.

Forte, a 6-4 sophomore who chosen co-player of the year in the AtlanticCoast Conference with Battier, averaged 21.6 points, 6.0 rebounds, 3.6assistsand 2.0 steals for the Tar Heels, who finished tied for the ACCregular-seasontitle with Duke, the lost to the Blue Devils in the tournament championshipgame.

The only other time three players from one conference were first-teamselections was in 1995-96 when the Big East had Ray Allen of Connecticut,AllenIverson of Georgetown and Kerry Kittles of Villanova.

Williams and Forte both received 61 first-team votes with Williamsgetting335 points. Forte had 332.

'Knowing it's only the second time three players in one league havemadethe team shows people what a great league the ACC is,' Forte said. 'It isincredible that of all the schools in the country that play ball, threeAll-Americans play only 10 minutes apart. It was fun competing against themthis year.'

Murphy, a 6-10 junior who averaged 22.0 points and 9.2 rebounds inleadingthe Fighting Irish to their first NCAA tournament since 1990, had 55first-teamvotes and 312 points. He is the first repeat selection since Raef LaFrentzofKansas in 1997-98.

Jacobsen, the third sophomore on the first team, received 35 first-teamvotes and 259 points after averaging 18.0 points and 4.0 rebounds, andshooting47 percent from 3-point range as the Cardinal won the Pac-10 Conference andfinished as the only Division I team with less than fur losses.

Jacobsen is the first Stanford player to be chosen for the first teamsincethe AP started selecting an All-America team in 1948.

'He came to Stanford with high expectations from everybody and he hasmetall the challenges,' Cardinal coach Mike Montgomery said. 'He has expandedhis game and in less than two seasons at Stanford he has established himselfasone of the best players to wear a Cardinal uniform.'

The last time teammates were chosen for the first team was 1997-98 whenbothLaFrentz and Paul Pierce of Kansas and Mike Bibby and Miles Simon of Arizonawere selected.

Iowa State senior Jamaal Tinsley led the second team and was joined byjuniors Michael Bradley of Villanova and Tayshaun Prince of Kentucky andsophomores Troy Bell of Boston College and Jason Richardson of MichiganState.

The third team was senior Charlie Bell of Michigan State, juniorsMichaelWright of Arizona, Udonis Haslem of Florida and Kirk Haston of Indiana andsophomore Frank Williams of Illinois.

Murphy and Battier were the only players from last year's three teamstoreturn this season.

AP Basketball Writer

2000-01 AP All-America Basketball Team


Shane Battier, Duke, 6-8, 220, senior, 19.5 ppg, 6.8 rpg, 2.1 steals (70first-place votes, 353 total points)
Jason Williams, Duke, 6-2, 196, sophomore, 20.8, ppg, 6.2 apg, 1.9 steals(61, 335)
Joseph Forte, North Carolina, 6-4, 185, sophomore, 21.6 ppg, 6.0 rpg, 3.6apg, 2.0 steals (61, 332)
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame, 6-10, 237, junior, 22.0 ppg, 9.2 rpg, 36.1 minutes(55, 312)
Casey Jacobsen, Stanford, 6-6, 210, sophomore, 18.0 ppg, 4.0 rpg, .504 fgpct., .466 3-pt pct., .804 ft pct. (35, 259)


Jamaal Tinsley, Iowa State, 6-3, 195, senior, 14.5 ppg, 6.0 apg, 2.5 steals(27, 246)
Troy Bell, Boston College, 6-1, 171, sophomore, 20.1 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 4.2 apg,2.7 steals, .858 ft pct. (8, 150)
Jason Richardson, Michigan State, 6-6, 220, sophomore, 15.5 ppg, 5.9 rpg,.529 fg pct. (7, 133)
Michael Bradley, Villanova, 6-10, 245, junior, 21.4 ppg, 10.1 rpg, .693 fgpct, 1.9 blocks (6, 120)
Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky, 6-9, 215, junior, 16.5 ppg, 6.6 rpg, .832 ft pct.(5, 117)


Frank Williams, Illinois, 6-3, 205, sophomore, 14.9 ppg, 3.5 rpg, 4.3 apg,2.0 steals (4, 89)
Michael Wright, Arizona, 6-7, 238, junior, 16.4 ppg, 8.2 rpg, .591 fg pct.(1, 72)
Charlie Bell, Michigan State, 6-3, 200, senior, 13.9 ppg, 4.4 rpg, 5.4 apg(1, 59)
Udonis Haslem, Florida, 6-7, 260, junior, 16.6 ppg, 7.3 rpg, .598 fg pct.(1, 56)
Kirk Haston, Indiana, 6-10, 230, junior, 18.7 ppg, 8.7 rpg (1, 53)


Gilbert Arenas, Arizona, Craig Austin, Columbia, Cory Bradford, Illinois,Tarise Bryson, Illinois State, Torrey Butler, Coastal Carolina, Casey Calvary,Gonzaga, Jarron Collins, Stanford, Jason Collins, Stanford, Juan Dixon, Maryland,Teddy Dupay, Florida, Marvin Ely, Fresno State, George Evans, George Mason. Reggie Evans, Iowa, Jason Gardner, Arizona, Kenny Gregory, Kansas, JerryGreen, UC Irvine, Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall, Trenton Hassell, Austin Peay, Brendan Haywood, North Carolina, Brian Heinle, Cal State-Northridge, DewayneJefferson, Mississippi Valley State, Joe Johnson, Arkansas, Ken Johnson, OhioState, Rahsaan Johnson, Monmouth, Jason Kapono, UCLA, Sean Lampley, California, Steve Logan, Cincinnati,Shernard Long, Georgia State, Jody Lumpkin, College of Charleston, DemondMallet, McNeese State, Chris Marcus, Western Kentucky, Ronnie McCollum, Centenary, Jeff Monaco,Southern Utah, Terence Morris, Maryland, Brett Nelson, Florida, RashadPhillips, Detroit, Norman Richardson, Hofstra, Kareem Rush, Missouri, Preston Shumpert,Syracuse, Demond Stewart, Niagara, Tim Szatko, Holy Cross, David Webber,Central Michigan, Mekeli Wesley, Brigham Young, David West, Xavier, Rodney White, Charlotte,Tarvis Williams, Hampton, Loren Woods, Arizona.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network