Oregon Wrestling Tied For 24th After First Day Of NCAA Tournament

March 15, 2001

IOWA CITY, Iowa - The No. 17 University of Oregon wrestling team is tied for 24th with eight team points after the first day of the NCAA Tournament in Iowa City, Iowa. A sold out crowd of 12,960at Carver-Hawkeye Arena watched as four of Oregon's seven qualifiers advanced to Session III tomorrow at 8 a.m. PST.

Minnesota is in first place with 41.50 points followed by host Iowa with 36.50 points. Arizona State is the top Pac-10 team, finishing day one in ninth place with 18 points.

'We aren't where we had hoped to be when we came here,' Oregon head coach Chuck Kearney said. 'But this is a tough tournament and now we'll focus on what these individuals can do.'

The Ducks will move on without two of their three seeded wrestlers as sophomore Brian Watson (133) failed to make weight and senior All-American Chael Sonnen (197) was eliminated after two consecutive losses on the first day.

Eugene Harris rebounded from a first round loss to Iowa State's Cole Sanderson with a 14-5 major decision over Dennis Papadatos of Hofstra in the pigtail wrestleback at 157. Harris then pinned Pat Owen's of Michigan at 6:37 in his third match of the day to advance in the wrestlebacks. Harris trailed 9-6 in the second period and the two were tied at 10 in the third period when Harris pinned Owens.

Oregon freshman Luke Larwin also stayed alive by defeating Tony Howard of George Mason, 16-14 in overtime of Session II. Larwin trailed by as many as nine points before staging the comeback that advanced him to Session III. Earlier in the day, Larwin faced No. 1 seed Donny Pritzlaff of Wisconsin. Pritzlaff defeated Larwin by technical fall at 6:52.

At 125, Shaun Williams also wrestled a close match, but never trailed against 12th seeded Tom Noto of Hofstra. Williams took an 6-3 lead in the second period and extended his lead to 8-4 heading into the final period. Noto scored a takedown late in the bout to narrow the gap, 10-8, but with over a minute of riding time, Williams had secured the win, 11-8.

Upsets continued to plague Oregon as senior All-Americans Doug Lee and Sonnen, both seeded sixth in the tournament, were pinned in Session II. Sonnen's defeat, by unseeded Greg Eynon at 2:26, came in the pigtail wrestleback and thus eliminated Sonnen from the tournament. In Session I earlier this morning, Sonnen was upset by unseeded Craig Rumsey of Wyoming by decision, 8-7. Sonnen ends his Oregon career 136-44, including 45 career pins.

Oklahoma's Josh Lambrecht pinned Lee at 2:06, marking just the fifth time in Lee's four-year career he has lost by fall. Although Lee is out of the championship bracket, he does advance to Session III tomorrow morning and can still earn all-America honors. Lee defeated Jeffrey Moskyok of Duquesne by major decision, 15-4 in Session I to advance in the championship bracket before his loss to Lambrecht. The top eight wrestlers in each weight class earn all-America accolades.

'In something like this you go through a wide range of emotions,' Kearney said. 'We feel for Doug Lee and how he lost, but we're excited for Luke Larwin, who came back to win after being down. We feel for Chael losing his last match like that, but then we're excited for Eugene Harris, who battled through a sore knee to win two matches today.'

Oregon Session I Results, March 15, 2001 - 9 a.m. PST

125: Matt Ridlings (OU) dec. Shaun Williams (UO), 11-4

149: Keaton Anderson (Ohio St.) Maj. Dec. Tony Overstake (UO), 11-3

157: Cole Sanderson (ISU) dec. Eugene Harris (UO), 6-3

165: Donny Pritzlaff (Wisc.) Tech. Fall Luke Larwin (UO), 25-8, 6:52.

184: Doug Lee (UO) Maj. Dec. Jeffrey Moskyok (Duquesne), 15-3

197: Craig Rumsey (WYO) dec. Chael Sonnen (UO), 8-7

Oregon Session II Results, March 15, 2001 - 4:30 p.m.
Championship Bracket

184: Josh Lambrecht (OU) Fall Doug Lee (UO), 2:06

Pigtail Wrestlbacks
157: Eugene Harris (UO) maj. dec. Dennis Papadatos (Hofstra), 14-5

197: Greg Eynon (Millersville) Fall Chael Sonnen (UO), 2:26

125: Shaun Williams (UO) dec. Tom Noto (Hofstra), 11-8

149: Nate Wachter (Penn St.) dec. Tony Overstake (UO), 9-4

157: Eugene Harris (UO) Fall Pat Owens (MICH), 6:37

165: Luke Larwin (UO) dec. Tony Howard (George Mason), 16-14 OT

Session III Matchups, Friday March 16, 2001 - 8 a.m. PST

125: Shaun Williams (UO) vs. Josh Moore (Penn St.)

157: Eugene Harris (UO) vs. Shaun Shapert (Edinboro)

165: Luke Larwin (UO) vs. Ben Boozer (Edinboro)

184: Doug Lee (UO) vs. TBA

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder