Huskies' Tacoma Tandem Earns All-Pac-10 Freshman Acclaim

March 12, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - A pair of Washington men's basketball guards from Tacoma, Curtis Allen and C.J. Massingale, earned All-Freshman Team honors, Pacific-10 Conference Commissioner Thomas Hanson announced on Monday.

Allen was a first-team member of the all-freshman squad that is selected by a vote of the conference coaches. The Wilson High School product led the Huskies with an 11.5-point scoring during the 11 games he started.

For the season, Allen averaged finished fourth on the team with a 7.0-point scoring average. He was second on the squad with 65 assists, the fourth-highest total ever for a Husky freshman. Allen's 29 steals rank third among all-time UW frosh.

Highlighting Allen's first collegiate campaign were a season-high 18-point performance in a win over Washington State and a game-winning shot in the Huskies' overtime victory at Oregon.

Also on the five-man first team were UCLA's T.J. Cummings, Washington State's Marcus Moore and two Oregon rookies, Luke Jackson and Luke Ridnour.

Massingale was one of four players to garner honorable mention acclaim. He finished fifth among UW players with 5.9 points per game. Massingale led the team in 3-point accuracy, hitting treys at a 43-percent clip (17-40).

The graduate of Mount Tahoma High School started four games, all Pac-10 contests. Massingale's top game was a 25-point outburst at UCLA on Jan. 4, the second-highest single-game scoring output by a Husky this season.

The two freshmen guards are the first UW scholarship players from Tacoma in 21 years, since Steve Matzen (1977-80).

No Washington players were named to the All-Pac-10 team. The conference honors included California's Sean Lampley as Player of the Year, Ridnour as Freshman of the Year and UCLA's Steve Lavin as Coach of the Year.

The Huskies finished the season with 10-20 record, including a 4-14 mark in Pac-10 play.


Name          School   Pos. Hgt.  Wgt. Hometown (High School)Curtis Allen     Wash.      G    6-0   160   Tacoma, Wash. (Wilson)T.J. Cummings    UCLA       F    6-8   208   Homewood, Ill. (Homewood-Flossmoor)Luke Jackson     Oregon     F    6-7   210   Creswell, Ore. (Creswell)Marcus Moore     WSU        G    6-6   182   Inglewood, Calif. (Dominguez)Luke Ridnour     Oregon     G    6-2   165   Blaine, Wash. (Blaine)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Justin Davis (Stanford, F), Desmon Farmer (USC, G), Teyo Johnson (Stanford, F), C.J. Massingale (Washington, G).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network