Men's Basketball Announces Team Awards

March 21, 2001

Corvallis, Ore. - Senior center Jason Heide has been named the 2001 Ralph Miller Award recipient, given annually to the most valuable men's basketball player at Oregon State University. The award was one of five announced Wednesday by Head Coach Ritchie McKay.

The 6'9' Heide averaged a team-leading 13.8 points (12th in the Pac-10) and shot .551 from the field (7th). He also posted a team-high 5.5 rebounds per game.

Sophomore guard Jimmie Haywood was the Jim Anderson Award winner, signifying the most improved player on the team. Haywood averaged 8.9 points per game, but that average improved to 13.0 points over the last nine contests of the season.

Adam Masten, a junior guard, was honored with the Ed Lewis Award. The award is given annually to the player who exemplifies the most leadership. Masten averaged 8.1 points, 4.4 rebounds, and was seventh in the Pac-10 with a 1.84 assist-to-turnover ratio.

The last two awards were given to the Knappa duo of sophomores Brian Jackson and Mike Cokley. Jackson (9.7 pts, 4.2 reb) was the Slats Gill Award recipient for what 'Slats demanded of himself and players,' and Cokley (2.0 pts, 0.8 reb) was given the Paul Valenti Award for desire and determination.

The OSU coaching staff selected the award recipients.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network