ASU Cross Country Runners Selected to Academic All-District Team

March 22, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State cross country runners Garrett Jensen, Lisa Aguilera and Mary Duerbeck were named to the 2001 Verizon All-Academic first-team for District VIII as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of American (CoSIDA).

Jensen, a senior who culminated his ASU career this past fall, has a 3.90 GPA in education. The men's cross country MVP this past season, Jensen was ASU's top finisher in three races for the Sun Devils and earned all-region honors with a 21st-place finish at the West Regionals. The Fullerton, Calif. native was also named a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection earlier this season.

Aguilera, a junior All-American, has a 3.64 GPA in computer systems engineering and turned in arguably the best season performance for an ASU women on the cross country course this past fall. Aguilera became just the third ASU woman to earn All-America honors with a school-record fifth-place finish at the 2000 NCAA Championships. She won the regional title and was the Pac-10 runner-up, both school record finishes as well. Aguilera was also named the 2000 West Region and Pac-10 Athlete of the Year. The Peoria, Ariz. native earned first-team All-Pac-10, all-region and first-team Pac-10 All-Academic honors this year.

Duerbeck, a senior from Chamois, Mo., has a 3.87 GPA in broadcasting and finished her collegiate cross country career as one of ASU's top-three finishers all season. She was a second-team All-Pac-10 and all-region honoree this season, and also surpassed an ASU women's record with a third-place finish at this fall's Pac-10 Championships. Like teammates Jensen and Aguilera, Duerbeck was a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection this year as well.

In order to be eligible for Academic All-America honors, a student must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale), must be a starter or significant reserve and be in at least their second season at their current school.

District VIII includes schools in the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and British Columbia. The District VIII winners advance to the Verizon All-American national ballot and the national team will be announced April 19, 2001.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network