Final Results From ASU's Baldy Castillo Invitational

March 24, 2001

Complete Baldy Castillo Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

- TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State senior sprinters Marcus Brunson and Tony Berrian turned in NCAA provisional qualifying marks in the 100 and 200 meter races respectively, in addition to leading their men's 1600m relay team to an automatic qualifying time of 2:03.20, the second-fastest in ASU history, as the three-day Baldy Castillo Invitational wrapped competition at Sun Angel Stadium Saturday afternoon.

Brunson and Berrian, along with teammates Michael Campbell and Jason Barton, etched their names in the Sun Devil record-books, blasting past their opponents to become the first ASU foursome to run under 3:03.28 1978. The ASU outdoor record in the men's 1600m relay is 3:01.74 set in 1977 by Clifton McKenzie, Greg Moore, Tony Darden and Herman Frazier.

Brunson took second in the men's 100m with a provisional qualifying time of 10.21, while Berrian was the runner-up in the men's 400m with a PQ of 46.10.

The Sun Devils women's 1600m relay team of Courtnie Ratliff, Candida Coulson, Arlaina Davis and Joni Smith also qualified provisionally for nationals, with a winning time of 3:36.64. ASU's third winning relay team of the day was the men's distance medley, with a time of 9:57.60. The women's 400 relay took runner-up honors with a time of 45:13.00.

Tiffany Greer, in addition to turning in a PQ in the long jump last night, ran a personal-best 11.71 to take second in the women's 100m. Also earning a personal-best today was Eric Logvin, placing second in the men's discus with an effort of 183 feet, six inches. Rounding out top three finishers for ASU, Joni Smith took third in the 400 (54.81) and Tony Galaviz also took third in the 110 high hurdles (13.97).

ASU welcomed over 600 athletes to the Valley of the Sun this weekend, with many posting NCAA qualifying marks. Indiana's Rachelle Boone was a double-winner in the women's 100 and 200 meter races, earning PQs in both events. Indiana dominated the women's sprints, as Tia Trent won the 400 with a PQ and Danielle Carruthers took first in the 100m high hurdles.

In the women's heptathlon, held Thursday and Friday, three women qualified for nationals. Kansas State's Skujyte Austra won the event with 5596 points, while Washington State placed second and third with Whitney Evans (5468 pts.) and Ellannee Richardson (5377 pts.), respectively.

On the men's side, Scott Leonard from Tennessee automatically qualified with a winning time of 10.13 in the 100, as did Arend Watkins from Washington State in the 110 high hurdles (13.67). The Tennessee men wowed the Sun Angel Stadium crowd, winning the 400m relay with an automatic qualifying time of 39.00.

The Sun Devils host the ASU Invitational next Saturday, with field events scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. and running events to follow at 1 p.m. ASU will also send split squads to the Stanford Invitational and the San Diego Invitational next weekend.

Complete results are available in PDF format at the top of the page

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network