Arizona State Track and Field Invitational Results

March 31, 2001

Complete ASU Invitational Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

- TEMPE, Ariz. -- Sophomore distance runner Cody Sohn won the women's 3000m steeplechase with an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 10:52.07, leading a split Sun Devil track and field squad which took seven men's event titles and four women's titles at the Arizona State Invitational at Sun Angel Stadium Saturday afternoon.

Senior Marcus Brunson was the only other Sun Devil to turn in a provisional qualifying mark at the ASU Invitational, winning the men's 100m in 10.28 but not improving upon his season-best time of 10.21 set last week a the Baldy Castillo Invitational.

Senior Tony Berrian, senior Michael Campbell and freshman Jason Barton finished one-two-three in the men's 400m, while juniors Phillip Prince and Cheyne Jones placed one-two in the 1500m. Barton ran a personal-best time of 46.91, and both Prince and Jones ran season best times of 3:49.90 and 3:50.03, respectively.

Freshman Ebon Glenn and sophomore Casey Clark led the field in the men's high jump, clearing heights of six feet, 10.75 inches and 6-8.75 to place first and second, respectively.

Also winning titles for the men were junior Karl Atkinson in the hammer (180-4) and junior Justin Owen with a personal best in the javelin (199-7). The men's 1600m relay team of Campbell, junior Pete Lopez, Barton and Berrian took first with a time of 3:07.86.

For the women, freshman thrower Sandy Orsund won the discus with a mark of 147-7, while her personal best set earlier this season (147-9) stands as ASU's best effort in the event in 2001. Both women's 400m and 1600m relay teams won their respective events, in times of 45.40 and 3:41.07.

Additional ASU track and field athletes are competing in the UC San Diego Open and the Stanford Invitational this weekend. Results from today's competition at those events will be forthcoming.

Full results from the Arizona State Invitational are available at the top of this page in PDF format.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network