No. 1 Bears Begin Title Defense at Crew Classic

April 2, 2001

This Week: Sat.-Sun., April 7-8, at San Diego Crew Classic, San Diego, CA
Sat. April 7, 7:00 a.m. to 4:50 p.m.
Sun. April 8, 7:00 a.m. to 2:20 p.m.
Next Race: April 14, Stanford Dual, Redwood Shores, CA, 10 a.m.

San Diego Crew Classic: The Cal men's crew will make its annual pilgrimage to Mission Bay in San Diego to compete in the San Diego Crew Classic, April 7-8. Racing is scheduled from 7:00 a.m. to 4:50 p.m. on Saturday and from 7:00 a.m. to 2:20 p.m. on Sunday.

Varsity Eight: Coming off back-to-back undefeated national championship seasons, the Cal men's crew is the odds-on favorite to win the title again in 2001 with a blend of 1999's power and 2000's efficiency. Unlike last season, when Cal returned only two oarsmen with varsity IRA gold medals to their credit, this year's squad boasts six Olympians, eight returning varsity IRA champions and seven returning freshman IRA champions.

USRowing's Coaches Poll : The Cal men's varsity eight received 11 of 13 first place votes in USRowing's Preseason Coaches poll released March 29, 2001 and enter the season ranked No. 1.

Competition: The Bears will be up against the traditionally strong field at San Diego. Below are the preliminary lane assignments for the heats on April 7. The top finishers in each heat advance to the grand finals on April, 8. Times are tentative.

Men's Varsity: (3 to final)
Heat 1 (8:00 a.m.) Cal, Penn, Yale, Navy, Stanford, Sac State
Heat 1 (8:10 a.m.) Washington, Wisconsin, Oregon State, Temple, Purdue
Men's JV: (3 to final)
Heat 1 (10:20 a.m.): UCSD, Cal, Penn, UC Davis, Oregon State
Heat 2 (10:30 a.m.): Orange Coast, Yale, SDSU, Washington
Men's Collegiate Novice (Freshman Eight) (2 to final)
Heat 1 (9:15 a.m.): Santa Clara, Cal, Virginia, USD, UCLA, Sac State, Orange Coast
Heat 2 (9:30 a.m.): USC, UCSD, Washington, UC Davis, Cal Maritime, Oregon State, Stanford
Heat 3 (9:40 a.m.): Chapman, SDSU, UCI, Washington St., UCSB, Loyola, CSULB
Men's Open (2 to final)
Heat 1 (1:00 p.m.): Low Performance, UCSD Alum(A), Cal, Santa Clara RC, HRC, USC, Aztec RC
Heat 2 (1:10 p.m.): Indoor Rowing, Orange Coast, Pepperdine, UCSD, Alum(B), UC Davis, Santa Clara, CSULB
Heat 3 (1:20 p.m.): Stanford, UCSB, Abbasi, River City, Los Gatos, Sac State, Jedi Knights

USRowing's Coaches Poll : The Cal men's varsity eight received 11 of 13 first place votes in USRowing's Preseason Coaches poll released March 29, 2001 and enter the season ranked No. 1.

Team (1st-Place Votes) Points
1. California (11) 258
2. Brown University (1) 245
3. Princeton University (1) 218
4. University of Washington 205
5. University of Wisconsin 199
6. Harvard University 194
7. Northeastern University 188
8. University of Pennsylvania 170
9. Dartmouth College 153
10. Yale University 135
11. Cornell University 130
12. Temple University 99
13. Dowling College 88
14. Syracuse University 78
15. U.S. Naval Academy 73
16. Oregon State University 58
17. Boston University 51
18. Columbia University 44
19. Rutgers University 36
20. University of Michigan 32
*Bold Indicates San Diego Crew Classic Copley Cup Entrants

Coach Steve Gladstone:Regarded as one of the premier coaches in the United States, Steve Gladstone enters his fifth year in his second stint as head coach of the Golden Bears. In 2000, Gladstone guided the Bears varsity to its second consecutive undefeated season. Cal men's crews swept the Pac-10 championships. The varsity and frosh eights won Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) national championship titles and the JV eight finished fourth. Gladstone was recognized as Pac-10 Men's Rowing Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season in 2000. During his previous tenure at Cal from 1973-80, Gladstone guided the Bears to three undefeated dual-race seasons, an IRA title, and a Pac-10 championship. Gladstone served as the Director of Rowing Operations at Brown University from 1981-94. During his time at Brown, Gladstone's crews amassed four Eastern Sprints championships, five IRA championships and two National Collegiate Rowing championship titles. With a total of eight IRA Varsity Challenge Cup titles to his credit, Gladstone currently ranks second in all-time varsity championships behind only Charles 'Pop' Courtney, who won 11 titles at Cornell between 1901 and 1915.

San Diego Crew Classic Lineups:
Varsity Eight
Cox Michael Vallarelli
Stroke Jeffrey Nalty
7 Mladen Stegic
6 Jake Wetzel
5 Ivan Smiljanic
4 Filip Filipic
3 Nito Simonsen
2 Luke Walton
Bow Scott Frandsen

JV Eight
Cox Franco Arieta
Stroke Neil Armour
7 Michael Wallin
6 Matt Marucheck
5 Eric Tiret
4 Magnus Fleming
3 Jack Nunn
2 Kevin White
Bow Patrik Englund

Freshman Eight
Cox Shawn Ghatan
Stroke Andrew Browne
7 Robert Austerman
6 Matt MacLeod
5 Zachary Johnson
4 Padraic Hussey
3 Rob Curran
2 Max Frasca
Bow Matt Todd
Open Eight
Cox Joseph Ghory

Open Eight
Stroke Robert Deppisch
7 Jesse Bauman
6 Bobby King
5 Paul O'Sullivan
4 Gordon Galloway
3 Hanns Hartman
2 Tom Spoja
Bow Chris Brooks

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network