Arvidson Gets Fifth, OSU Finishes Ninth At Western Intercollegiate

April 3, 2001

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. - -

Oregon State golfer Anthony Arvidson turned in one of his best performances of the year at the Western Intercollegiate, as he shot 2-over-par 210 for the tournament to finish fifth on Tuesday. OSU came in ninth with a score of 884 after shooting 296 in the final round at the par-70 Pasatiempo Golf Club.

Arvidson carded a final-round 70 to go along with a 73 and 69 in the first two rounds. The 69 marked the first time he has dipped into the 60s this year, and was his fourth round under par.

The fifth-place finish gives Arvidson four top-10 finishes this year, and the senior has now run his streak of consecutive top 25 performances to 11, dating back to last season. Arvidson, whose best finish this year was a tie for third at the Husky Invitational, now has 11 top-10s in his career, including three tournament wins.

Only four strokes separated OSU from sixth place, where UC-Irvine shot 880. The Beavers finished two strokes behind Stanford and Pepperdine, and one ahead of San Jose State and Fresno State.

Dave Yarnes and Mike Jurgensen each continued their consistent play, as they have given the Beavers solid second and third scores all year long. Yarnes shot 222, which included a round of 72 on Monday, and tied for 35th, while Jurgensen shot 73 on Tuesday to finish at 223 in a tie for 40th. Prior to his 73, Jurgensen had seven consecutive rounds of 75.

Todd Deacon tied for 55th with a 227, while his brother Sean shot 250 to finish 89th.

In the team competition, Oregon ran away with the title, as they won by 17 strokes over Washington after shooting a score of 10-over 850.

San Diego State's Lars Johansson won the individual battle, but it took a playoff to beat Pacific's Jason Higton. Both players finished the 54 holes at 206, four strokes ahead of anyone else.

OSU's next action is at the Sun Devil Intercollegiate in Tempe, Ariz., April 12-14.


1. Oregon 284-287-279--850, 2. Washington 291-286-290--867, 3. Kansas 299-296-277--872, 4. Pacific 284-295-297--876, 5. California 292-290-295--877, 6. UC-Irvine 287-298-295--880, 7. Pepperdine 304-297-281--882, 7. Stanford 293-295-294--882, 9. Oregon State 293-295-296--884, 10. San Jose State 298-294-293--885, 10. Fresno State 295-297-293--885, 12. Hawaii 292-297-302--891, 13. UC-Santa Barbara 301-289-302--892, 14. San Diego State 284-301-311--896, 15. Nevada 294-307-298--899, 16. Ohio State 293-307-301--901, 17. Long Beach State 306-304-294--904, 18. Santa Clara 301-314-304--919.


1. Lars Johansson, SDSU, 65-67-74--206 (won in tiebreaker), 2. Jason Higton, Pacific, 71-65-70--206, 3. John Ellis, Oregon 70-71-69--210, 3. Chris Carnahan, Oregon, 70-70-70--210, 5. Anthony Arvidson, Oregon State, 73-69-70--212.


5. Anthony Arvidson 73-69-70--212, t35. David Yarnes 72-75-75--222, t40. Michael Jurgensen 75-75-73--223, t55. Todd Deacon 73-76-78--227, 89. Sean Deacon 85-79-86--250.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network