Gymnasts To Compete In Afternoon Session At NCAA Championships

April 8, 2001

Oregon State, which has qualified for the NCAA Championships for the second consecutive season, has unofficially been selected to compete in the afternoon session of the team preliminary competition at 10 a.m. PDT, Thursday, April 19 in Athens, Ga.

The Beavers will begin the competition on beam. Joining OSU in the afternoon session are Oklahoma (vault), Florida (bye before bars), Michigan (bars), UCLA (bye before floor) and Alabama (floor).

Competing in the evening session at 4 p.m. PDT will be Arizona State, Denver, Georgia, Nebraska, Stanford and Utah.

Meet rotations and sessions are determined by a random draw by the NCAA, although the information is unofficial until verified.

The top three teams from each session will advance to the Super Six Team Finals, which will be held Friday, Apr. 20 at 4 p.m. PDT.

In addition to the Super Six berths, the individual all-around champion will be determined after Thursday's competition. Competitors also qualify for the individual event finals based on their performance in the preliminary competition. The top four finishers (plus ties) on each event from each session will advance to event finals, which will be held Saturday, April 21 at 4 p.m. PDT.

Oregon State placed second with a 194.075 at the NCAA West Regional Championships at UCLA on April 7 to earn the repeat trip to nationals. The Beavers placed 10th overall at last year's competition.

Tickets are available through the Oregon State ticket office by calling 1-800-GO-BEAVS.

NCAA Championships

Afternoon Session (April 19, 10 a.m. PDT)

Rot.	Vault	Bye	Bars	Beam	Bye	Floor1	Okla.	Fla.	Mich.	OSU	UCLA	Ala.2	Ala. 	Okla.	Fla.	Mich.	OSU	UCLA3	UCLA	Ala.	Okla.	Fla.	Mich.	OSU4	OSU	UCLA	Ala. 	Okla.	Fla.	Mich.5	Mich.	OSU	UCLA	Ala.	Okla.	Fla.6	Fla.	Mich.	OSU	UCLA	Ala.	Okla.

Individual All-Arounders: Suzanne Poretz, New Hampshire (rotates with Oklahoma),Kelly Parkinson, BYU (rotates with Florida),Dinorh Boyd, West Virginia (rotates with Michigan),Tanya Huey, Iowa State (rotates with Oregon State),Emily Pritchard, Washington (rotates with UCLA),Jill Fisher, Maryland (rotates with Alabama)

Individual Event Specialists: Beam - Stephanie Sweitzer, Iowa State (competes in rotation three with Florida),Floor - Randi Liljenquist, Arizona (competes in rotation three with Oregon State)

Evening Session (April 19, 4 p.m. PDT)

Rot.	Vault	Bye	Bars	Beam	Bye	Floor1	Stan.	Neb.	Ga.	Den.	Utah	ASU2	ASU	Stan.	Neb.	Ga.	Den.	Utah3	Utah	ASU	Stan.	Neb.	Ga.	Den.4	Den.	Utah	ASU	Stan.	Neb.	Ga.5	Ga.	Den.	Utah	ASU	Stan.	Neb.6	Neb.	Ga.	Den.	Utah	ASU	Stan.

Individual All-Arounders: Nicki Arnstad, LSU (rotates with Stanford),Dani Albright, San Jose State (rotates with Nebraska),Maryanne Kelley, Minnesota (rotates with Georgia),Kara Fry, Arizona (rotates with Denver),Lindsey Vagedes, Ohio State (rotates with Utah),Gillian Cote, Maryland (rotates with Arizona State)

Individual Event Specialists: Vault - Katie McAvoy, Penn State (competes in rotation three with Utah),Beam - Mandi Klug, Washington (competes in rotation three with Nebraska),Floor - Kristin Macrie, West Virginia (competes in rotation three with Denver),Floor - Katie Rowland, Penn State (competes in rotation four with Georgia)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder