Men's Golf Ties For Third In Mexico

April 9, 2001

The Arizona State men's golf team tied for third at Ford U.S. Collegiate Golf Championship held at Vista Vallarta Golf Club in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, over the weekend.

ASU shot 10-over 874 (292-286-296) and tied with Clemson. Georgia won the tournament with a 29-under 835 while Georgia Tech finished at 4-over 868.

Sun Devil junior All-American Matt Jones tied for sixth with a 3-under 213 (68-70-75), while freshman Chez Reavie tied for tenth with a 216 (74-74-71). Brian Nosler (74-73-76=223) and Ben Flam (79-70-74=223) tied for 34th, while Jin Park finished 53rd (79-73-78=230).

Jeff Quinney did not play since he played in the The Masters.

The tournament was co-hosted by Kent State and Intersport Television and will be televised on a tape-delayed basis on ESPN2 April 14 at 2-4 p.m. and April 15 from 3-5 p.m.

The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on Friday, April 13, and Saturday, April 14, to the 29th annual ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-72, 7,027 yards). The 21 schools will play 36 holes on Friday, April 13, followed by a final round on Saturday, April 14. Arizona State won the 2000 Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational and has won the tournament nine of the past 12 years. Last year, Paul Casey won the tournament with a 9-under 207 and ASU won the title with an 18-under 846. ASU's Jeff Quinney, the current U.S. Amateur Champion, won the 1999 individual title with a 15-under-par 201 and also set the course record with a 62 in the final round.

ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 10 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999 and 2000) while eight times Sun Devils have won the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999) and Paul Casey (2000).

The practice round will take place on Thursday, April 12, followed by the first 36 holes on Friday, April 13, with a shotgun start. The final 18 holes will take place on Saturday, April 14. The 21 participating schools are: Arizona, Arizona State, Brigham Young, California, Ca State Northridge, Fresno State, Houston, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Oregon State, Pepperdine, Stanford, Texas, UCLA, UNLV, USC, UTEP, Virginia and Washington.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network