Men's Golf Ties School Record With 276 at Shocker Classic

April 10, 2001

WICHITA, Kan. --- Three Washington State golfers fired career-best rounds at the Diet Pepsi/Shocker Classic, helping the Cougars tie the single round scoring mark with a 276, and finish in fourth place.

Jon Reehoorn spurred the second-round explosion with a 66, his best round as a Cougar. The Burlington, Wash., native finished the tournament tied for 24th after posting a five-over par 218. Two more Cougars added to the record-tying 276 with career-best rounds. Jeremy Taylor fired a 68, while freshman Isaac Woods followed with a 69.

Taylor was the biggest story of the tournament for Washington State. He overcame a slump that has plagued him throughout the spring by firing a four-under par 209 and tying for ninth overall. He shot rounds of 71, 68, and 70 over the two-day event.

Dustin White, who led the Cougars with a 69 on Monday, shot an even 213 and tied for 11th. Woods just missed out on his sixth top 25 finish of the year, tying for 27th with a six-over 219.

Four Wichita State players finished in the top 20 to lead the host school to the team medal. The Shockers finished 13-under par, and held off Colorado State and Wichita State, who tied for second, by six strokes.

Andreas Rydholm of Oklahoma City, a Division II school, fired three rounds under 70 to take top individual honors. Rydholm finished 11-under par and beat second place Nick Underwood of Wichita State by three strokes.

Washington State will tee it up again Apr. 21-22 at the U.S. Intercollegiate hosted by Stanford.

WSU RESULTS:	290-276-290---856T9)  Jeremy Taylor	71-68-70---209T11)Dustin White	69-73-71---213T24)Jon Reehoorn	76-66-76---218T27)Isaac Woods		77-69-73---219T56)Ryan Camp		74-74-77---225

TEAM RESULTS: 1. Wichita State (839) 2. Colorado State, Oklahoma City (845) 4. Washington State (856) 5. Long Beach State (871) 6. Iowa State (874) 7. Oral Roberts (875) 8. Drake, Illinois State (876) 10. Air Force (880) 11. Southwest Texas State (885) 12. Texas-San Antonio (887) 13. Southwest Missouri State (895) 14. Stephen F. Austin, Evansville (897) 16. Missouri-Kansas City (899) 17. Northern Iowa (903)

TOP FIVE INDIVIDUALS: 1. Andreas Rydholm, Oklahoma City (202) 2. Nick Underwood, Wichita State (205) 3. Michael Roberts, Wichita State (206) 4. Neil Johnson, Drake (207) 5. Grant Yawn, Southwest Texas State (208)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network