Men's Hoops Coach Rob Evans Named To Committee With USA Basketball

April 10, 2001

USA Basketball has named Arizona State's Rob Evans to the Men's Collegiate Committee. The Men's Collegiate Committee's task is to identify coaching staffs, team members and trials participants for a variety of competitions, including the FIBA World Championship for Young Men, World Championship for Young Men Qualifying Tournament and World University Games, as well as additional USA Select Teams as needed. Returning to chair the Committee, which is comprised of four appointees from the NCAA, one representative each from the NABC, NAIA and NJCAA, as well as a pair of athlete representatives, is Terry Holland (Athletic Director, University of Virginia). Appointed by the NCAA are Evans, Jim Boeheim (head coach, Syracuse University, N.Y.), Jim O'Brien (head coach, Ohio State University) and Tubby Smith (head coach, University of Kentucky), Oliver Purnell (head coach, University of Dayton, Ohio) was named to the Committee by the NABC, while Ralph Turner (head coach, Union University, Tenn.) and Dan Sparks (head coach, Vincennes University, Ind.) will represent the NAIA and NJCAA, respectively. Steve Wojciechowski (1995 Junior World Championship team / assistant coach, Duke University, N.C.) and A.J. Wynder (1995 Pan American Games team / head coach, Nassau Community College, N.Y.) are the athlete representatives.

With 2001 marking the start of a new quadrennium, USA Basketball announced that its men's and women's competition committees and USA Basketball's Standing Committees for the new quadrennium have been finalized. Each of the competition committees feature a chair, appointees from applicable USA Basketball active members, and athlete representatives. The Standing Committees also feature athlete representation as well as appointees from each of USA Basketball's active members. The men's and women's competition committees completed include the Senior National Team Committee, Collegiate Committee and Cadet and YouthCommittee, while the Standing Committees include the Constitution andBylaws Committee, Committee for the Disabled, Finance Committee, MembershipCommittee, Officials Committee, Doping Control Committee and USA BasketballAthletes Council.

USA Basketball Men's Collegiate Committee

Chair: Terry Holland

NCAA Appointees: Jim Boeheim (Syracuse), Rob Evans (Arizona State), Jim O'Brien (Ohio State), Tubby Smith (Kentucky)

NABC Appointee: Oliver Purnell (Dayton)

NAIA Appointee: Ralph Turner

NJCAA Appointee: Dan Sparks

Athlete Representatives: Steve Wojciechowski, A.J. Wynder

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network