Four Sun Devil Softball Players Selected To The USA National Team Camp

April 11, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. -- The Amateur Softball Association announced Wednesday that 51 of the nation's finest women's fast pitch softball players have been selected to participate in the USA Softball Women's National Team Camp, May 30-June 3 at the ARCO Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, California.

Included in the 51 players are four current Arizona State Sun Devils. Junior Kirsten Voak, junior Missy Hixon, junior Nichole Thompson and sophomore Kara Brun.

USA Softball will select two 16-player teams to represent the U.S. in international competitions such as the U.S. Cup in Honolulu, the Canada Cup in Vancouver and the Pan Am Qualifier in Maracay, Venezuela during the 2001 season.

The players invited are a who's who of women's fast pitch softball, including NCAA Champions, World Champions and a total of 54 NCAA All-America selections. A total of 10 states from Alabama to California and 15 NCAA Division I colleges will be represented at the 2001 USA Softball Women's National Team Camp. Additional players could be added if any of these players are unable to attend the camp.

Selections for the 2001 USA Softball Women's National Teams will be made following the USA Softball Women's National Team Camp. The two teams will then participate in the USA Softball Shootout, a four-city West Coast tour that will stop in Portland (June 8), Spokane (June 10), Sacramento (June 14) and Los Angeles (June 17) prior to leaving for the U.S. Cup in Hawaii.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network