Five Women's Basketball Players Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

April 12, 2001

EUGENE, Ore. - Brianne Meharry, Jamie Craighead, Lindsey Dion, Kourtney Shreve and Ndidi Unaka each earned Pacific-10 Conference Women's Basketball All-Academic honors, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday.

The Ducks landed more players on the all-academic team (five) than any other Pac-10 school.

Meharry, a 6-foot senior forward who will graduate this June, made the five-member Second Team with her 3.2 grade-point average in Educational Studies. She averaged 9.7 points and 4.9 rebounds for the NCAA Tournament-bound Ducks in 2000-01. It marks the third straight year she has been selected to the All-Academic team, as she was an Honorable Mention pick after her sophomore and junior seasons.

Meanwhile, Craighead, Dion, Shreve and Unaka all made the Honorable Mention team. It was the third consecutive year Dion, a graduating senior, has been chosen for the Honorable Mention list. It also was the first time for Craighead and Unaka, seniors-to-be, and Shreve, who will be a junior next season.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average, and be either a starter or significant contributor.

First Team	    Year	GPA	MajorLeah Combs, ASU	     Jr.	3.94	Broadcast CommunicationsMegan Franza, UW     Sr.	3.79	PsychologyVictoria Harrod, WSU Sr.	3.97	Human DevelopmentKatie Nyseth, WSU    Sr.	3.87	Biological Systems EngineeringJill Pimley, UW      Sr.        3.85	History

Second Team Year GPA MajorJessica Collins, WSU Sr. 3.66 BusinessBrianne Meharry, ORE Sr. 3.20 Educational StudiesLoree Payne, UW So. 3.65 UndecidedGenevieve Swedor,CAL Sr. 3.54 SociologyNatalie Tucker, ASU Sr. 3.69 Business Management

Honorable MentionLauren Ashbaugh, Sr., Cal, Ericka Cook, Jr., OSU, Jamie Craighead, Jr., ORE, Lindsey Dion, Sr., ORE, Bethany Donaphin, Jr., STAN, Courtney Johnson, Sr., CAL, Carmen Krause, Jr., USC, Brett Leonard, So., ASU, Carolyn Moos, Sr., STAN, Jessica Ottmar, So., WSU, Liz Pickney, Jr., ARIZ, Lauren St. Clair, Jr., STAN, LeAnn Sheets, Sr., UW, Kourtney Shreve, So., ORE, Ndidi Unaka, Jr., ORE, Krista Warren, So., ARIZ.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network