ASU Wins Six Event Titles at 22nd Annual Sun Angel Track Classic

April 14, 2001

Complete Sun Angel Track Classic Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Led by the one-two punch of Lisa Aguilera and Kelly MacDonald in the women's 1500m, Arizona State track and field came away with 11 NCAA provisional qualifying marks, including six event titles and several personal records, at the 22nd Annual Sun Angel Track Classic Saturday at Sun Angel Stadium.

Aguilera and MacDonald each set personal bests in the 1500m, taking first and second with times of 4:19.90 and 4:22.72 respectively. Both posted provisional qualifying marks with the second and fourth fastest times in ASU history.

The 2001 edition of ASU's time-honored track and field tradition also featured the breaking of two meet records and the winning efforts of two former Sun Devils and 2000 Olympians.

Auburn's Avard Moncur set a meet record in the men's 400 with a time of 44.88, while Henrik Ahnstrom from Northern Arizona set a new meet standard in the men's 3000m with a time of 8:15.13.

Former Sun Devils and 2000 Olympians, Dwight Phillips won the men's long jump with a mark of 25 feet, 3.5 inches and Nick Hysong, this year's meet honoree, won the men's pole vault, clearing a height of 17 feet, 4.25 inches. Highlighting the high school competition, the girl's 4x800 relay team from Xavier High School set a school record, winning the event in 9:35.24.

Also leading the ASU women at the Sun Angel Classic was Tiffany Greer, winning the women's long jump with a PQ mark of 20 feet, 11.75 inches and taking runner-up honors in the women's 100 with a personal-best time of 11.63. Also qualifying for nationals were Candida Coulson -- clocking a PR of 58.31 in the women's 400m hurdles -- and Adrienne Judie with a personal-best hammer throw of 190-7, improving her previous school record.

ASU's women's 1600m relay team of Courtnie Ratliff, Coulson, Arlaina Davis and Joni Smith also posted a PQ, winning the event with a season-best time of 3:35.60.

On the men's side, Anthony Galaviz qualified for nationals with a winning time of 13.90 in the men's 110 hurdles, while Ebon Glenn (6-10.75) and Casey Clark (6-8.75) took first and second, respectively, in the men's high jump. In the men's javelin, Justin Owen took first with a mark of 199 feet, four inches.

Sprinter Michael Campbell clocked a personal best and provisional qualifying time with a runner-up finish in the men's 400m (45.74), while teammate Tony Berrian finished just behind, also with a PQ of 45.88. In the men's 1500m, Brandon Strong took second with provisional qualifying time of 3:44.35. David Wood improved his national qualifying status in the men's shot put with a second-place effort of 60-9.25.

Next weekend the Sun Devils will travel to the Mt. Sac Relays in Walnut, Calif. and the Tucson Elite.

Complete Results are available in PDF format at the top of the page.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network