All-Century Baseball Team To Be Honored

April 16, 2001

SEATTLE - The 61 individuals that have been named to the Husky Baseball All-Century Team will behonored at a banquet this Saturday, April 21, beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Founders Clubat Bank of America Arena.

The team, which includes 58 players and three coaches from the first 100 years ofUniversity of Washington baseball, was selected via input from fans, former players andformer and current coaches. Included on the team are nine individual members of theHusky Hall of Fame, as well as five players that were inducted as part of the 1959 team.

The list also includes eight Huskies that went on to play in the major leagues, dating backto Royal Shaw, who played briefly with the 1908 Pittsburgh Pirates. Sammy White, whospent most of the 1950s as the Red Sox starting catcher, and longtime Seattle Mariner MikeBlowers are also included.

Here's a list of the 61 players and coaches named to the Husky Baseball All-Century Team(years lettered/ coached in parentheses):

William 'Dode' Brinker (1903-05)     Ray Price (1971-74)Royal Shaw (1905)                    Ron Gibson (1972-73)William 'Wee' Coyle (1908-11)        Duane Covey (1973-76)Roscoe 'Torchy' Torrance (1920-22)   Rick Anderson (1978)Osbourne 'Ob' Gardner (1920-23)      Dan Sijer (1978-79)Art Langlie (1920-26)                John Martin (1978-80)Elmer Tesreau (1923-26)              Mike Smith (1978-80)Gene 'Beaner' Walby (1923-26)        Ron Johnson  (1978-80)Joe Johnson (1926-28)                Tom Riley (1978-81)Rudy Tollefson (1928-30)             Jeb Best (1979-82)Wilson Gaw (1928-30)                 Warren deLisle (1980-81)Bill Hutchinson (1929-31)            Gary Blouin (1984-86)Ned Nelson (1930-32)                 Mike Blowers (1986)Bill Waltz (1930-32)                 Scott Brow (1988-90)Ed Putnam (1930-32)                  Kevin Stocker (1989-91)Hal Lee (1932-34)                    Derrin Doty (1990-93)Bill Taylor (1943, 47-48)            Michael Call (1990-91)Bob Tate (1946-49)                   Randy Jorgensen (1991-93)Sammy White (1947-48)                Ryan Rutz (1992-94)K Chorlton (1947-79)                 Joe Trippy (1992-95)Bill Andring (1949-50)               Jon Vander Griend (1993-95)Gordy Rodland (1950-51)              Brett Merrick (1993-95)Bill Stuht (1952-54)                 Jake Kringen (1995-97)Jack Ballard (1954-56)               Kevin Miller (1996-98)Jerry Thornton (1957-59)             Chris Magruder (1996-98)Daryl Burke (1957-59)                Dominic Woody (1997-99)George Kritsonis (1957-58)           Jeff Heaverlo (1997-99)George Grant (1958-60)               Coach Tubby Graves (1923-46)Don Daniels (1958-60)                Coach Bob MacDonald (1977-92)Earle Irvine (1959)                  Coach Ken Knutson (1993-present)Phil Swimley (1960-61)
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network