Seven Pac-10 Players Await Fate in WNBA Draft

April 19, 2001


Seven former Pac-10 women's basketball players are eligible prospects for the 2001 WNBA Draft, which begins Friday, April 20 at 8:30 a.m. PT. The four-round draft will betelevised live on ESPN2, marking the first time in the league's five-year history that the draft will air on national television.

The seven Pac-10 players, who completed their final year of NCAA eligibility in 2000-01, are: Reshea Bristol, ARIZONA (5-10 G), Kenya Corley, CALIFORNIA (5-8 G), Megan Franza, WASHINGTON (5-10 G), Courtney Johnson, CALIFORNIA (5-8 G), Carolyn Moos, STANFORD (6-6 C), Jenny Mowe, OREGON (6-5 C) and Angelina Wolvert, OREGON (6-3 F/C).

These seven players have the chance to join many outstanding Pac-10 women's basketball players who have gone on to success at the professional level. All told, 24 former Pac-10 stars were playing in the WBNA during the 2000 season.

Included in that prestigious list of athletes is two-time WNBA Player of the Year, Cynthia Cooper, who along with fellow USC alum Tina Thompson, guided the Houston Comets to four straight WNBA titles. Cooper retired following the 2000 season.

Every WNBA honor and award list is dominated by Pac-10 alums. Four of the 10 players voted to All-WNBA teams in 2000 were former Pac-10 stars -- first team picks Cooper, Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles) and Natalie Williams (Utah), and second team selection Thompson.

Three Pac-10 alums were in the starting lineups for the WNBA All-Star game in 2000, including the game's Most Valuable Player, Thompson. Four former Pac-10 players played for the West, including starters Cooper, Leslie and Thompson, with Williams playing a key reserve role.

In addition to ESPN2's first-round coverage of the 2001 draft, all four rounds of the draft will be carried live on TV and online at, with complete analysis and comprehensive information on all 16 teams' selections. WNBA President Val Ackerman will introduce those drafted players who will be in attendance.

The following is an alphabetical listing of former Pac-10 stars who played on WNBA teams during the2000 season:

Player School/Graduated WNBA Team
Jennifer Azzi Stanford '90 Utah
Adia Barnes Arizona '98 Cleveland
Michelle Campbell USC '97 Washington
Cynthia Cooper USC '86 Houston
Milena Flores Stanford '00 Miami
Kristin Folkl Stanford '98 Minnesota
Sonja Henning Stanford '91 Seattle
Monica Lamb USC '87 Houston
Lisa Leslie USC '94 Los Angeles
Maylana Martin UCLA '00 Minnesota
Nicky McCrimmon USC '94 Los Angeles
Naomi Mulitauaopele Stanford '98 Utah
Vanessa Nygaard Stanford '98 Portland
Heather Owen Stanford '98 Washington
Kate Paye Stanford '95 Minnesota
Jamie Redd Washington '99 Seattle
Charmin Smith Stanford '97 Seattle
Kate Starbird Stanford '97 Utah
Olympia Scott Richardson Stanford '98 Detroit
Katy Steding Stanford '90 Sacramento
Tina Thompson USC '97 Houston
Jamila Wideman Stanford '97 Portland
Natalie Williams UCLA '92 Utah
Adrain Williams USC '99 Phoenix

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network