Men's Golf Travels To Stanford U.S. Intercollegiate on Saturday-Sunday

April 20, 2001

The Arizona State men's golf team travels to Stanford on April 21-22 (Saturday-Sunday) to compete in the Stanford/U.S. Intercollegiate at The Stanford Golf Course (par-71, 6,786 yards). The 18 schools will play 36 holes on Saturday, April 21, followed by a final round on Sunday, April 22. ASU won its own Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational last weekend for the third straight year. The 18 teams competing are: Arizona, ASU, California, UC Irvine, Long Beach State, Oregon, Oregon State, Pacific, Portland, University of San Diego, University of San Francisco, Santa Clara, San Jose State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Washington and Washington State. The course also will be the site of the Pac-10 championships held April 27-29. ASU has won the Pac-10 title the past six years (a conference record) and in seven of the past eight years. The Sun Devils also won national championships in 1990 and 1996. ASU is led by ninth-year head coach Randy Lein, the 1996 National Coach of the Year and a seven-time winner of Pac-10 Coach of the Year (five times at ASU and twice at USC).

RESULTS: Results will be faxed to local Arizona State outlets and also will be available on the stanford website at

RANKINGS: ASU is ranked sixth in the latest Golfweek poll, fourth in the latest Mastercard poll and seventh in the most recent Golfworld poll.

LINEUP: Arizona State's expected line up will be:

1. Senior Jeff Quinney (71.74 stroke average, 2000 U.S. Amateur Champion)2. Junior Matt Jones (72.43 stroke average, 2000 Honorable Mention All-American)3. Senior Jin Park (74.45 stroke average)4. Junior Brian Nosler (73.47 stroke average)5. Freshman Chez Reavie (73.53 stroke average)

ASU HEAD COACH RANDY LEIN: Randy Lein has coached 55 tournament victories in 19 seasons, tutored 40 All-Americans and added the top accolade in collegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to his collection of honors as the Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn., with a three-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his ninth season as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 31 tournament victories (including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10 titles, three NCAA West Regional wins and seven top-10 finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. In addition, Lein has tutored NCAA medalist Todd Demsey and 10 All-Americans (20 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), Paul Casey (3)Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Paul Casey (3), Jeff Quinney (2) and Matt Jones (1). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year five times (1993, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twice at USC (1980 and 1986). Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduate of CS Northridge.

QUINNEY ON THE CHARTS: Jeff Quinney has captured three collegiate tournament championships. Quinney won the 2001 Las Vegas Intercollegiate, the 1999 NCAA West Regional and the 1999 ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational. A look at Quinney on the ASU career wins list:Rk.	Name (Years)	Wins1. 	Phil Mickelson (1989-92)	162.	Billy Mayfair (1985-88)	83t.	Paul Casey (1997-2000)	63t.	Charlie Gibson (1972-75)	65.	Todd Demsey (1992-95)	56.	Howard Twitty (1970-72)	4	Scott Watkins (1978-79)	4	Dan Croonquist (1976-79)	49t.	Jeff Quinney (1997-2000)	39t.	Jim Carter (1981-84)	3