Women's Tennis Hosts Oregon in Final Regular Season Match

April 23, 2001

vs. Oregon
Wednesday, April 25
1:30 p.m. - LATC

@ Pac-10 Championships
Thurs., April 26 - Sun., April 29
Ojai, Calif. - Libby Park

This Week . . .
The UCLA women's tennis team will play a makeup match with Oregon this Wednesday at the LATC beginning at 1:30 p.m. That match was originally scheduled for Feb. 24, however had to be rescheduled due to rain. Following its match with the Ducks, UCLA will have little time to rest as the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif. begin Thursday and finish up on Sunday. Bruins entered in the Pac-10 Championship singles draw include, Sara Walker, Catherine Hawley, Petya Marinova and Lauren Fisher. In the Pac-10 Invitational draw, Mariko Frtiz-Krockow, Jennifer Donahue, Chelsea Godbey and Michelle Stiefel are among Bruins entered. In doubles, the Bruin tandems of Fisher/Marinova and Fritz-Krockow/Walker are entered in the Pac-10 Championship draw. Donahue/Hawley and Godbey/Stiefel are two UCLA teams entered in the Pac-10 Invitational doubles draw.

Last Week . . .
The Bruins went 1-1 last week, upsetting No. 9 Cal, 4-3 on Friday and losing to top-ranked Stanford, 5-2 on Saturday. Against Cal on Friday, Bruin junior Catherine Hawley won the deciding match at No. 2 singles, defeating Cal's Christina Fusano, 7-6(5), 6-4. UCLA's win over the Golden Bears snapped a six-match losing streak and gave the Bruins their second win over a top-10 opponent this season (def. #7 ASU, 1/27). On Saturday, Bruin freshmen Lauren Fisher and Mariko Fritz-Krockow each registered singles victories, accounting for both of UCLA's points in the 5-2 loss to the No. 1 Cardinal.

UCLA in the ITA Team and Individual Rankings . . .
As a team, UCLA checked in at No. 32 in the ITA rankings released last week. New team rankings will be released this Wednesday. Individual rankings were released on Apr. 18 and Sara Walker is ranked 20th in the country, followed by Petya Marinova at No. 85. In doubles, Lauren Fisher and Marinova check in at No. 19.

Walker Gunning For Second-Straight Pac-10 Title . . .
Bruin No. 1 Sara Walker is looking to repeat as Pac-10 singles champion after taking the title last year. Walker, who was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2000, defeated No. 23 Allison Bradshaw of ASU, 6-1, 6-1 in the finals. In the semifinals, she defeated No. 13 Lauren Kalvaria of Stanford, 6-4, 6-0. Walker was the only player in the women's draw that didn't drop a set the entire tournament.

UCLA's Pac-10 Championship History . . .
UCLA's Jane Thomas won the first-ever Pac-10 singles championship back in 1987. Since then, the Bruins have had three Pac-10 singles champions, Keri Phebus (1995), Annica Cooper (1998) and Sara Walker (2000). Following her Ojai title in 1995, Phebus went on to win the NCAA Singles Championship that same year. In doubles, the Bruins have had three teams win Pac-10 Championship titles - Mamie Ceniza/Stella Sampras (1989), Kimberly Po/Sampras (1991) and Phebus/Paige Yaroshuk (1996).

Ojai Tournament Information . . .
The 2001 Pac-10 Championships will take place April 26-29 at Libby Park in Ojai, Calif. Draws will be posted on the Ojai Tournament website located at www.ojaitourney.com. Media inquiries and credential requests should be directed to Gerry Roe at (805) 646-3611.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network