Jarron Collins & Michael McDonald Named Winners of the Howie Dallmar Coaches Award

April 26, 2001

Stanford, Ca - Jarron Collins and Michael McDonald, who helped lead the nationally-ranked Stanford basketball team to a four-year record of 114-19, three Pac-10 titles and four trips to the NCAA Tournament have been named the 2001 winners of the Howie Dallmar Coaches Award, presented to the Stanford players who have displayed excellence on-and-off the court.

Collins and McDonald helped lead Stanford to a 31-3 record during the 2000-01 season and a trip to the NCAA Elite Eight. Collins gained numerous post-season honors including the ten-member John Wooden All-America team, honorable mention All-America by Associated Press and first team All Pacific-10 Conference. McDonald was named honorable mention All Pac-10, and led the conference in assist-to-turnover ratio (165-to-55) and in three-point field goal percentage (.514).

Jason Collins and Casey Jacobsen were named co-winners of the Hank Luisetti Most Valuable Player. Collins was named a third-team All-American by Associated Press, winner of the Pete Newell Big Man of the Year and All Pacific-10 first team. Jacobsen was named first team All-American by Associated Press, The Sporting News, the John Wooden Team, and the United States Basketball Writers Association. Jacobsen was also named All Pacific-10 for a second straight season.

Jason Collins also earned Best Defensive Player and winner of the Roy Young Toughness Award. Other award winners were Julius Barnes who was named Most Improved Player, and Ryan Mendez was named Most Inspirational Player.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder