ASU Relay Teams Advance to Finals at Drake Relays

April 27, 2001

DES MOINES, Iowa - Arizona State's men's 400 and 1600 relay teams, as well as the women's 1600 squad, won their preliminary heats today, advancing to tomorrow's finals at 92nd Annual Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa.

The men's 1600 relay team of Michael Campbell, Jason Barton, Pete Lopez and Tony Berrian won its heat in a NCAA provisional qualifying time of 3:06.69. The Sun Devil squad enters the final tomorrow with the second-fastest preliminary time. ASU's season-best time of 3:03.20 was achieved at the Baldy Castillo Invitational March 24.

Also turning in a NCAA PQ was the women's 1600 relay team of Courtnie Ratliff, Candida Coulson, Seneca Holmes and Joni Smith, winning its heat in 3:37.19, almost two minutes slower than their season-best. The squad enters the final with the fifth-fastest prelim time.

The men's 400 relay team of Vince Jones, Marcus Brunson, Shaun McDonald and Emmanuel Franklin also qualified for the final tomorrow, winning its heat in 40.62, the sixth-fastest prelim time. The team's season-best effort was a time of 39.98 at last weekend's Mt. Sac Relays.

Also competing for ASU today, Anthony Galaviz placed second in his preliminary heat of the men's 110 hurdles, but his time of 14.28 wasn't enough to advance to the finals tomorrow. In the women's 100 hurdles, Seneca Holmes also failed to advance, placing third in her heat in 13.94. Running the women's 100, Sharesa Turner placed fourth in her preliminary heat in 12.14, and was unable to advance to the final as well.

Also competing tomorrow in the final day of the Drake Relays will be Arlaina Davis in the women's 400, as well as Berrian and Campbell in the men's 400.

The other half of ASU's split squad will compete in the Oregon Invitational Saturday at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network