Men's Tennis Results From The Second Of The Pac-10 Championships

April 27, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. -- The Arizona State men's tennis team had a rough go at the Pac-10 singles championship in Ojai, California as the team's last two players to make it to the second round lost their matches.

Nic Dubey was handed a tough three set loss to USC's Ryan Moore, 6-2, 4-6, 6-3, while Mirza Duranovic fell in straight sets to UCLA's Julien Rojer, 6-4, 6-3.In late first round action, Pim Van Mele fell in his opening match to Stanford's K.J. Hippensteel, 7-5, 6-4.

In doubles action in the championship bracket, ASU's duo of Olivier Charroin and Van Mele won their opening round match against Oregon's Davis Becker and Buck Mink, 8-6. However, ASU's top team of Dubey and Klinger were upset by Oregon's Martin Pawlowski and Oded Teig, 8-5.

The consolation singles matches involving Klinger and Van Mele, as well as the doubles match with Van Mele and Charroin were not posted at press time and will be reported when available.

Pac-10 Championship (Round of 32):

K.J. Hippensteel (SU) def. Pim Van Mele (ASU), 7-5, 6-4

Pac-10 Championship (Round of 16):

Ryan Moore (USC) def. Nic Dubey (ASU), 6-2, 4-6, 6-3

Julien Rojer (UCLA) def. Mirza Duranovic (ASU), 6-4, 6-3

Pac-10 Doubles Championship (Round of 16):

Charroin/Van Mele (ASU) def. Becker/Mink (UO), 8-6

Pawlowski/Teig (UO) def. Dubey/Klinger (ASU), 8-5

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder