Arvidson Named To Pac-10 First Team

April 30, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - - Oregon State men's golfer Anthony Arvidson has been selected to the Pacific-10 Conference First Team, it was announced by the Pac-10 on Monday.

Arvidson, ranked 54th nationally, led the Beavers in scoring this year with a 72.36 average while playing in every event for OSU and finishing in the top 25 of every tournament. Overall, Arvidson's streak of top-25 finishes stands at 14, dating back to last season. The senior totaled four top-10 finishes this season, with his highest finish being a tie for third at the Husky Invitational in the fall. Over his last four tournaments, Arvidson averaged 70.9 strokes per round.

Arvidson, a senior from Beaverton, Ore., was a two-time honorable mention all-conference selection after his freshman and junior years, and has won three career tournaments. Arvidson earned Pac-10 All-Academic First Team last season in addition to being a National Golf Coaches Association Scholar Athlete. He was an all-academic second-team selection his sophomore year.

Most recently, Arvidson and teammate Daren Grieg tied for 22nd at the Pac-10 Championships.

Earning co-Pac-10 Golfer of the Year honors were Arizona State's Jeff Quinney and Arizona's Ricky Barnes.

USC's Hunter Mahan was the Freshman of the Year and his coach, Kurt Schuette, was named Coach of the Year.


FIRST TEAMAnthony Arvidson, senior - Oregon StateRicky Barnes, sophomore - ArizonaMatt Jones, junior - Arizona StateAlex Kuyumjian, senior - USCHunter Mahan, freshman - USCJeff Quinney, senior - Arizona State

SECOND TEAMCody Beyer, junior - ArizonaJohn Ellis, sophomore - OregonNick Jones, senior - USCBrock MacKenzie, freshman - WashingtonChris Nallen, freshman - ArizonaChez Reavie, freshman - Arizona StatePhilip Rowe, junior - Stanford

HONORABLE MENTION:Alex Aragon, Sr., Stanford, Reid Hatley, So., Arizona, Travis Johnson, So., UCLA, Parker McLaughlin, Jr., UCLA, Brian Nosler, Jr., Arizona State, Jin Park, Sr., Arizona State, Corey Prugh, Fr., Washington, John Rehorn, Jr., Washington State, Kevin Stadler, Jr., USC, Peter Tomasulo, Fr., California, Dustin White, So., Washington State.

PAC-10 CO-GOLFERS OF THE YEAR: Jeff Quinney, Sr., Arizona State and Ricky Barnes, So., Arizona.


PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Kurt Schuette, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder