Mackenzie Named to Second-Team All-Pac-10 Golf Squad

April 30, 2001

Seattle, WA - Washington freshman Brock Mackenzie (Yakima) has been named a second-team selection to the Pac-10 Conference golf team. A total of six players earned first-team honors and Mackenzie was joined by six other players on the second team. Fellow Husky freshman Corey Prugh (Spokane) was an honorable mention selection.

Mackenzie led the Huskies during the season in tournament appearances (10), rounds (30), top-10 finishes (four), under-60 rounds (six), and below-par rounds (eight). He posted a 73.03 stroke average in his first year at Washington. Last weekend he tied for ninth at the Pac-10 Championships with a 3-under par score of 281.

Prugh finished fourth at the Pac-10s with a 9-under par score of 275 to set a Husky record for a 72-hole tournament. He topped all Washington golfers this year with a 72.5 stroke average.

Jeff Quinney of Arizona State, the defending U.S. Amateur Champion, and Ricky Barnes of Arizona were named the Pac-10 Co-Golfers of the Year. USC's Hunter Mahan was the Freshman of the Year and USC coach Kurt Schuete was named the Coach of the Year. All voting for the all-conference teams was done by the league's coaches.

All-Pac-10 Selections

First Team
Anthony Arvidson, senior - Oregon State
Ricky Barnes, sophomore - Arizona
Matt Jones, junior - Arizona State
Alex Kuyumjian, senior - USC
Hunter Mahan, freshman - USC
Jeff Quinney, senior - Arizona State

Second Team
Cody Beyer, junior - Arizona
John Ellis, sophomore - Oregon
Nick Jones, senior - USC
Brock MacKenzie, freshman - Washington
Chris Nallen, freshman - Arizona
Chez Reavie, freshman - Arizona State
Philip Rowe, junior - Stanford

Honorable Mention: Alex Aragon, Sr., Stanford, Reid Hatley, So., Arizona, Travis Johnson, So., UCLA, Parker McLaughlin, Jr., UCLA, Brian Nosler, Jr., Arizona State, Jin Park, Sr., Arizona State, Corey Prugh, Fr., Washington, John Rehorn, Jr., Washington State, Kevin Stadler, Jr., USC, Peter Tomasulo, Fr., California, Dustin White, So., Washington State.
PAC-10 Co-Golfers of the Year: Jeff Quinney, Sr., Arizona State and Ricky Barnes, So., Arizona.
PAC-10 Freshman of the Year: Hunter Mahan, USC
PAC-10 Coach of the Year: Kurt Schuette, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder