Men's Golfer Jeff Quinney Earns Pac-10 co-Player Of The Year

April 30, 2001

Arizona State senior men's golfer Jeff Quinney has been named the Pac-10 co-Player of the Year, along with Arizona's Ricky Barnes. Quinney, the reigning U.S. Amateur Champion, has a 71.38 stroke average this year and has six top-10 finishes in his nine events. He is 24-under-par in his past four events (13 rounds). Quinney is a four-time All-Pac-10 honoree, as he earned first-team honors the past two seasons and second-team honors in his freshman season (1998).

Quinney's accolade marks the 10th time a Sun Devil has earned the honor. Other Sun Devils to claim the honor are: Paul Casey (2000), Chris Hanell (1997), Todd Demsey (1994), Phil Mickelson (1990-92), Billy Mayfair (1987), Dan Forsman (1981) and Scott Watkins (1979).

Matt Jones earned first-team honors for the second time in his career. He has a 71.61 stroke average in 10 events and has five top-five finishes and six top-10 finishes. He finished third at the Pac-10 Championships this weekend with an 11-under 273 (70-65-69-69).

Chez Reavie is one of four freshman honored by the league, as he earned second-team honors. Reavie has a 73.00 stroke average in eight events this year.

Sun Devils Jin Park and Brian Nosler each received honorable mention honors.

Arizona State will compete in the NCAA West Regionals May 17-19 at Corvallis, Ore. The NCAA Championships are May 30-June 2 in Durham, N.C.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder