Three Cougar Golfers Named All-Pac-10

May 2, 2001

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Washington State golfers Tasha Browner, Jon Reehoorn, and Dustin White were all named All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention on Wednesday.

Browner, a junior from Tarzana, Calif., is only the second Cougar woman to be named to the All-Pac-10 team. She led her team with a 76.7 stroke average and fired a 67 and 209 to break the school record for single round and tournament scoring. Browner will compete in the NCAA West Regional as an individual on May 10-12.

'I'm proud of this award,' Browner said. 'I think it's great for our program and says a lot for Cougar golf.'

Pac-10 Champion Lorena Ochoa of Arizona was named the Pac-10 freshman of the year, while California's Nancy McDaniel was the coach of the year.

Reehoorn capped his season off with an 18th place finish at the Pac-10 Championship, but it was his consistency over the last nine months that earned him a spot on the all- conference team. The junior from Burlington, Wash., finished in the top 10 in four events, and paced WSU with a 73.4 average.

White was the third Cougar selected to the team. The Pueblo West, Colo., native began his season by breaking the single round school record with a 65 in the Northwest Classic. White, who is only a sophomore, matched Reehoorn with four top 10 appearances, including a tie for ninth at the Pac-10 Championship. He is the youngest player from Washington State to be named to the All-Pac-10 team.

'Last year was a year of experience for me,' White said. 'This year I knew I could play with anybody. Being so young, and coming off a rough year, honorable mention is not something that I thought would happen. It hasn't really sunk in yet.'

Arizona State's Jeff Quinney and Arizona's Ricky Barnes were the co-players of the year. USC's Hunter Mahan was the Pac-10 freshman of the year.

Jennifer Dodd was named All-Pac-10 in 2000, while the last player from the men's team to be selected to the conference team was Jeremy Champoux in 1999.

MEN'SALL-PAC-10 FIRST TEAMName		School		Yr.	HometownAnthony Arvidson Oregon State	Sr.	Beaverton, Ore.

Ricky Barnes Arizona So. Stockton, Calif.

Matt Jones Arizona State Jr. Sydney, Australia

Alex Kuyumjian USC Sr. Thousand Oaks, Calif.

Hunter Mahan USC Fr. McKinney, Texas

Jeff Quinney Arizona State Sr. Eugene, Ore.

ALL-PAC-10 SECOND TEAMName School Yr. HometownCody Beyer Arizona Jr. Tucson, Ariz.

John Ellis Oregon So. San Jose, Calif.

Nick Jones USC Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.

Brock Mackenzie Washington Fr. Yakima, Wash.

Chris Nallen Arizona Fr. Blairstown, N.Y.

Chez Reavie Arizona State Fr. Mesa, Ariz.

Philip Rowe Stanford Jr. Cornwall, UK

HONORABLE MENTION: Alex Aragon, Sr., Stanford, Reid Hatley, So., Arizona, Travis Johnson,So., UCLA, Parker McLaughlin, Jr., UCLA, Brian Nosler, Jr., Arizona State, Jin Park, Sr., Arizona State, Corey Prugh, Fr., Washington, John Reehoorn, Jr., Washington State, Kevin Stadler, Jr., USC, Peter Tomasulo, Fr., California, Dustin White, So., Washington State.

PAC-10 CO-GOLFERS OF THE YEAR: Jeff Quinney, Sr., Arizona State and Ricky Barnes, So.,Arizona


PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Kurt Schuette, USC

WOMEN'SALL-PAC-10 FIRST TEAMName		School		Yr.	Hometown

Natalie Gulbis Arizona Fr. Sacramento, Calif.

Hilary Homeyer Stanford Sr. Edina, Minn.

Kelli Kamimura Washington Jr. Burlington, Wash.

Stephanie Keever Stanford Sr. Las Vegas, Nev.

Candie Kung USC So. Monterey Park, Calif.

Lorena Ochoa Arizona Fr. Guadalajara, Mexico

ALL-PAC-10 SECOND TEAMName School Yr. Hometown

Leila Chartrand USC Jr. Victoria, B.C., Canada

Jimin Kang Arizona State Fr. Edmonds, Wash.

Mikaela Parmlid USC So. Gothenburg, Sweden

Angela Rho Stanford Fr. Fullerton, Calif.

Jerilyn White Oregon Sr. Salem, Ore.

HONORABLE MENTION: Tasha Browner, Jr., Washington State, Cristina Baena, Jr., Arizona, Molly Cooper, Sr., Arizona State, Sarah Huarte, Fr., California, Vikki Laing, So., California, Anne Lee, So. Arizona, Kim Kouwabunpat, Fr., Stanford, Laura Myerscough, So., Arizona, Melissa Martin, Fr., UCLA, Lisa Meredith, Jr., Arizona State, Anna Rawson, Fr., USC, Sake Uechi, So. UCLA, Gina Umeck, Fr., UCLA.

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Lorena Ochoa, Arizona

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Nancy McDaniel, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder