Tuiasosopo Named NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Winner

May 5, 2001

Indianapolis, IN - Washington senior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo has been awarded a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship by the NCAA. Tuiasosopo, who will graduate in June with a degree in business, is one of only four Division IA football players included among the 58 student-athletes to be selected for the honor. The other IA football players to receive the award were Kimball Christianson (Utah), Scott Kempenich (Oklahoma) and Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska).

The NCAA awarded the postgraduate scholarships to 29 men and 29 women who participated in fall sports, which included men's and women's cross country, women's field hockey, football, women's volleyball, men's and women's soccer and men's water polo.

To qualify for a NCAA postgraduate scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.000 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athlete must have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics. The student-athlete also must intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time or part-time graduate student.

Tuiasosopo, the Huskies' all-time leader in total offense and only the second UW quarterback to throw for 2,000 yards in consecutive seasons, led Washington to a 11-1 record, the Pac-10 Championship and to a Rose Bowl victory during the 2000 season. He was named the Most Valuable Player at the Rose Bowl and also Offensive MVP of the Pac-10 Conference. Tuiasosopo was also honored as the winner of the Pop Warner Award as the top collegiate football player on the West Coast. He was selected by the Oakland Raiders in the second round of this year's NFL draft.

Tuiasosopo becomes the 15th Washington player to receive a NCAA postgraduate scholarship. That list includes: Bill Douglas (1965), Mike Ryan (1967), Jim Krieg (1972), John Brady (1973), Scott Phillips (1977), Blair Bush (1978), Bruce Harrell (1980), Mark Jerue (1982), Chuck Nelson (1983), Mark Stewart (1983), David Rill (1988), Ed Cunningham (1992), Dave Janoski (1997) and Nigel Burton (1999).

In addition to the fall sport honorees, the NCAA awards 116 postgraduate scholarships to student-athletes participating in winter and spring sports (58 for men and 58 for women) in which the NCAA conducts championships, for a total of 174 postgraduate scholarships annually. Of the 58 fall sports scholarships, 26 were awarded to Division I student-athletes, 10 to student-athletes in Division II and 22 to student-athletes in Division III.

Nomination forms are sent to faculty athletics representatives for fall sports in December, for winter sports in late January and for spring sports in March. Selections are made two times each academic year. The application must be submitted during the appropriate seasonal category for the sport. Candidates are screened by eight regional selection committees and the winners are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

2000-2001 Fall Sports
NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Awardees (29)

Name               Institution    Div. Sport        Major Michael Bucy          North Carolina    I     Soccer         EconomicsAdam Carlson          Emory             III   Cross Country  ChemistryKimball Christianson  Utah              I     Football       GermanAaron Cuny            North Florida     II    Cross Country  Economics/EnglishMatt DeJong           California, Davis II    Soccer         Civil EngineeringThor Esbensen         Nebraska Wesleyan III   Cross Country  Math/EducationJoseph Fent           Scranton          III   Cross Country  BiologyMichael Green         Troy State        I     Cross Country  Sport & Fitness Mgmt.Joe Hall              Wyoming           I     Cross Country  Arch. EngineeringMackenzie Hay         Augustana (Ill.)  III   Football       BiologyJoe Jones             SE Oklahoma State II    Football       Health & Phy. EducationTamas Katona          St. Francis (NY)  I     Water Polo     MathematicsScott Kempenich       Oklahoma          I     Football       Social StudiesSean Kern             UCLA              I     Water Polo     HistoryMatt LaVerde          Mount Union       III   Football       MathematicsVictor Longo          DeSales           III   Cross Country  Physician AssistantTim McCoskey          North Central     III   Cross Country  HistoryJeff Olenick          Goucher           III   Cross Country  HistoryPaul Peletz           Arkansas Tech     II    Football       Business AdministrationAndrew Sause          Navy              I     Water Polo     Ocean EngineeringBrian Sell            St. Francis (Pa.) I     Cross Country  BiologyCarl Tape             Carleton          III   Soccer         Physics/GeologyMatt Thuesen          Montana           I     Football       Political ScienceCharles Toth          Air Force         I     Water Polo     Envir. EngineeringMarques Tuiasosopo    Washington        I     Football       Business AdministrationKyle Vanden Bosch     Nebraska          I     Football       FinanceCharlie Walker, Jr.   Carson-Newman     II    Football       BiologyDavid Wonderlick      Susquehanna       III   Football       Public RelationsTom Zirbel            Wartburg          III   Cross Country  Chemistry

2000-2001 Fall Sports
NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Awardees (29)

Name              Institution     Div. Sport        Major Amy Agulay           New Hampshire      I     Field Hockey   Exercise ScienceElisabeth Bachman    UCLA               I     Volleyball     Communication StudiesLeslie Bagay         Wellesley          III   Field Hockey   Biological ScienceNicole Bayman        Scranton           III   Soccer         MarketingKacy Beitel          Michigan           I     Soccer         Indust/Operations Engr.Amy Beykirch         N.C. State         I     Cross Country  Biological SciencesKathleen Celio       Santa Clara        I     Soccer         Finance/EnglishRose Ebnet           South Dakota St.   II    Volleyball     Health PromotionSunny Gilbert        Missouri           I     Cross Country  BiochemistryAdrienne Gough       DePauw             III   Cross Country  Computer ScienceKara Grgas-Wheeler   Colorado           I     Cross Country  PsychologyRobin Herlands       Haverford          III   Field Hockey   BiologyCaroline Hoit        Emory              III   Soccer         International StudiesAlysia Kern          North Florida      II    Volleyball     BiologyCheryl Loveless      Portland           I     Soccer         ChemistryMarie Muhvic         Wis.-St. Point     III   Soccer         Physical EducationCarla Muntz          Dayton             I     Volleyball     Pre-medicineKathleen Neff        Stonehill          II    Soccer         BiologyChristina Nichols    N.C. State         I     Cross Country  Mechanical EngineeringBonnie O'Shields     Col. of Notre Dame III   Volleyball     Business/FinanceAngela Oxley         Nebraska           I     Volleyball     Exercise ScienceAbigail Perham       Springfield        III   Field Hockey   Rehab. & DisabilitiesJill Quast           NW Missouri State  II    Volleyball     AccountingMichelle Scott       Stanford           I     Field Hockey   Human BiologyCourtney Sommer      Duke               I     Field Hockey   Biological AnthropologyMalissa Stevenson    Northern Kentucky  II    Soccer         BiologyBarbara Swallow      Springfield        III   Cross Country  Sports BiologyMegan Williams       Emory              III   Volleyball     Marketing & Comm.Toby Wilmet          Washington (Md.)   III   Field Hockey   Art/Humanities
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network