2001 Pac-10 Tennis All-Conference Team and Awards Release

May 7, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote by the Conference coaches, STANFORD's Alex Kim has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year for the second straight season, while Cardinal Laura Granville was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

Stanford also took top doubles honors as Kim and K.J. Hippensteel were named Men's Doubles Team of the Year, while Lauren Kalvaria and Lauren Barnikow were named Women's Doubles Team of the Year.

A pair of CALIFORNIA Golden Bears captured the Freshman of the Year honors, as Balazs Veress was named Men's Freshman of the Year, and Raquel Kops-Jones was named Women's Freshman of the Year.

On the coaching side, Cal's Peter Wright was named men's Coach of the Year, while WASHINGTON's Patty McCain was selected as women's Coach of the Year.

Kim, a senior from Potomac, Md., earns his second consecutive Pac-10 Men's Tennis Player of the Year honor. He is currently the No. 1-ranked player in the nation and posted an 18-2 dual record this season. Granville, a sophomore from Chicago, Ill., did not compete in the Pac-10 Championships this season, but is the nation's top-ranked player. She went 22-1 in dual matches this season.

Stanford's tandem of Kim and Hippensteel defeated Arizona State's Oliver Charroin and Pim Van Mele to win the Pac-10 doubles title in Ojai, Calif. They are the No. 15 duo in the nation. Hippensteel is from Roanoke, Va. Barnikow and Kalvaria did not compete at this season's Pac-10 Championships. The Cardinal duo is the country's top doubles team and posted a 20-3 record in dual matches this year. Barnikow is a freshman from Woodbridge, N.J. Kalvaria is a junior from Indialantic, Fla.

Veress, from Budapest, Hungary, went 19-3 in matches this season. He appears at No. 65 in the national rankings. Raquel Kops-Jones, from Fresno, Calif., made it to the final at the Pac-10 Championship, but was defeated by Arizona State's Adria Engel for the singles title. She is ranked at No. 48 and went 27-14 on the season.

Wright has guided the Bears to a 14-8 record this season and third place Pac-10 finish. The Bears are ranked No. 16. This is his second Coach of the Year award. McCain led the Huskies to an 18-7 overall record and tied for second in the Pac-10 standings. The No. 14 Huskies are enjoying their highest-ranking ever. This is McCain's first Coach of the Year honor.

Men's First TeamJohn Paul Fruttero, CALK.J. Hippensteel, STANAlex Kim, STANRyan Moore, USCAndrew Park, USCJean-Julien Rojer, UCLA

Men's Second TeamAndrej Bizjak, WASHNic Dubey, ASUJean-Noel Grinda, UCLAMatt Hanlin, WASHRyan Haviland, STANDavid Martin, STANBalazs Veress, CAL

Men's Player of the YearAlex Kim, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the YearK.J. Hippensteel/Alex Kim, STAN

Men's Freshman of the YearBalazs Veress, CAL

Men's Coach of the YearPeter Wright, CAL

Women's First TeamAdria Engel, ASULaura Granville, STANLauren Kalvaria, STANKristina Kraszewski, WASHJewel Peterson, USCSara Walker, UCLA

Women's Second TeamClaire Carter, WASHMaureen Diaz, USCRaquel Kops-Jones, CALAnita Kurimay, CALGabriela Lastra, STANErica Perkins, WSU

Women's Player of the YearLaura Granville, STAN

Women's Doubles Team of the YearLauren Barnikow/Lauren Kalvaria, STAN

Women's Freshman of the YearRaquel Kops-Jones, CAL

Women's Coach of the YearPatty McCain, WASH

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder