All-Pac-10 Tennis Teams Announced

May 7, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote by the Conference coaches, the Pac-10 men's and women's all-conference teams were selected and announced Monday afternoon.

For the men, USC's Ryan Moore and Andrew Park were named to the first team. On the women's side, the Women of Troy's Jewel Peterson was honored on the first team (last season she received honorable mention accolades), while Maureen Diaz was named to the second team.

Stanford's Alex Kim was named the Pac-10's Men's Tennis Player of the Year for the second straight season, while Cardinal Laura Granville was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

Stanford also took top doubles honors as Kim and K.J. Hippensteel were named Men's Doubles Team of the Year and Lauren Kalvaria and Lauren Barnikow were named Women's Doubles Team of the Year.

A pair of Cal Golden Bears captured the Freshman of the Year honors, as Balazs Veress was named Men's Freshman of the Year, and Raquel Kops-Jones was named Women's Freshman of the Year.

On the coaching side, Cal's Peter Wright was named men's Coach of the Year, while Washington's Patty McCain was selected as women's Coach of the Year.

Men's First Team
John Paul Fruttero, CAL
K.J. Hippensteel, STAN
Alex Kim, STAN
Ryan Moore, USC
Andrew Park, USC
Jean-Julien Rojer, UCLA

Men's Second Team
Andrej Bizjak, WASH
Nic Dubey, ASU
Jean-Noel Grinda, UCLA
Matt Hanlin, WASH
Ryan Haviland, STAN
David Martin, STAN
Balazs Veress, CAL

Men's Player of the Year
Alex Kim, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
K.J. Hippensteel/Alex Kim, STAN

Men's Freshman of the Year
Balazs Veress, CAL

Men's Coach of the Year
Peter Wright, CAL

Women's First Team
Adria Engel, ASU
Laura Granville, STAN
Lauren Kalvaria, STAN
Kristina Kraszewski, WASH
Jewel Peterson, USC
Sara Walker, UCLA

Women's Second Team
Claire Carter, WASH
Maureen Diaz, USC
Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL
Anita Kurimay, CAL
Gabriela Lastra, STAN
Erica Perkins, WSU

Women's Player of the Year
Laura Granville, STAN

Women's Doubles Team of the Year
Lauren Barnikow/Lauren Kalvaria, STAN

Women's Freshman of the Year
Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL

Women's Coach of the Year
Patty McCain, WASH

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder